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Format

Each State will present on their system for 
oversight of exempt care

Q&A after each State presentation

Further discussion on oversight of licensed and 
license-exempt care
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Indiana Office of Early Childhood 

and Out-of-School Learning 

Melanie Brizzi
Director



Indiana’s 

Exemptions to 

Licensure

★ Home providers caring for 5 or fewer unrelated children

★ Programs operating less than 4 hours a day

★ Programs operating 90 days or less per year 

★ Faith based registered ministries

Registered Ministries are registered with OECOSL and must meet 

basic sanitation and fire safety standards. 

Other exempt programs are only monitored if they want to accept 

CCDF subsidy payments. 



Standards for 

Unlicensed 

Providers taking 

CCDF
★ IC12-17.2-3.5 called Provider Eligibility Standards (PES) was first 

created after reports of providers receiving CCDF funds and caring for 

children in unsafe environments without running water or working 

telephone, rodent/insect infestation

★ Very basic standards were added as accountability for the public 

funding- included first aid and CPR training

★ This legislation established annual inspections for any provider wanting 

to accept CCDF vouchers

★ These new requirements did result in a decrease in the number of 

providers accepting vouchers- responded by using CCR&R to build 

local capacity through “Outreach Specialists” 



Monitoring for 

Compliance

★ Annual inspections conducted by contracted inspectors with State 

oversight

★ Citations for non-compliances are issued using a Notice of Order 

(NOO) process

★ Providers have 18 days to correct any non-compliances under the 

NOO- failure to do so results in decertification as a CCDF provider

★ If decertified provider can reapply- but can recently law was changed to 

allow a two year revocation for certain conditions, including multiple 

NOOs even if the issues were corrected

★ Decertification and revocation are appealable actions with 

administrative hearings



Adding additional 

standards

★ Over the years, additional standards for unlicensed providers taking 

CCDF have slowly been added within Indiana Code, most often in 

response to complaints, injuries or deaths

★ 2009- Supervision requirements, safe sleep training added

★ 2013 legislature passed the most comprehensive standards for all 

unlicensed providers taking CCDF- standards phased in over two 

years



New Standards 

Effective July 2014

★ Comprehensive Criminal History Checks- added to all provider types

★ For unlicensed CCDF providers added: 

discipline policy

transportation standards

orientation for new staff 

minimum age of caregivers

required training on Child Abuse and Neglect prevention and detection

hand washing and diapering standards

authority for State to issue emergency decertification  



New Standards 

Effective July 2015

★ Staff to child ratios

★ Group sizes

★ Nutrition

★ Daily activities

★ 12 clocks hours of training annually related to the age of children 

that individual is caring for

★ Safe environment 



Implementing the 

new standards

★ Communicate early and often

★ Series of mailings, emails, webinars explaining the new standards

★ Reviewing availability of clock hour training to meet the new 

standards- adding new trainings as needed, partnerships with 

others- for example the Indiana Afterschool Network 



melanie.brizzi@fssa.in.gov

317-234-3313

mailto:melanie.brizzi@fssa.in.gov


NEW MEXICO, CHILDREN, 

YOUTH AND FAMILIES 

DEPARTMENT – EARLY 

CHILDHOOD SERVICES

Non-Licensed Child 
Care



Non-Licensed Child Care Objective  

• Home caregivers who are not 

required to be licensed as a family 

child care home 

• For these providers to participate 

in the federal child and adult 

care food program (CACFP) and 

the child care assistance 

program they must comply 

regulatory requirements



Non-Licensed Standards

• Non-Licensed Child Care (Registered Providers) – provides 

care for no more than four (4) non-resident children at any 

one time

• Requirements -

• Comprehensive background check on provider

• FBI fingerprint supported checks

• Abuse and neglect screens

• Sex offender/NM Courts criminal records screenings 

• Household members over the age of 18

• Abuse and neglect screens

• Sex offender/NM Courts criminal records screenings  

• Health and safety requirements

• Training
• Mandatory participation with CACFP

• Payment rates for Non-Licensed providers are listed in 

our Child Care Assistance regulations (subsidy) 



Licensing requirements for home-based child care

• Licensed Family and Group Child Care

• Family Child Care - provides care to at least five but no more than 

six children

• Group Home Child Care - provides care for at least seven but not 

more than 12 children and must have a secondary caregiver

• Requirements

• Comprehensive background check on provider and household 

members over the age of 18

• FBI fingerprint supported checks

• Abuse and neglect screens

• Sex offender/NM Courts criminal records screenings  

• Zoning and other approvals

• Local zoning 

• Fire Marshal 

• NM Environments Department

• Extensive health and safety requirements

• Training requirements

• Services of care for children to include: 

• Physical environment

• Social emotional responsive environment



Non-Licensed Oversight

• October 2013, NM CYFD created 13 new positions 

in Child Care to conduct the health and safety 

inspections on non-licensed homes

• Inspections are conducted annually, at minimum 

• Inspections are to review  health and safety 

compliance as well as other regulation 

requirements such as training

• Inspection findings are captured electronically at 

the time of inspection by using tablets and 

electronic monitoring software



Non-Licensed Enforcement and Compliance

• Enforcement and compliance:

• NM CYFD supports providers and provides them 

with necessary resources to promote success 

• Major violations to deny, revoke or suspend a 

registration are as follows:

• Abuse and neglect referrals

• Background check denials or suspensions

• Failure to allow access in the home

• Any health or safety concern that puts the 

children in eminent danger

• A provider that receives notice that their 

registration is denied, revoked or suspended 

has a right to an administrative appeal 



Data Systems – EPICS

• Enterprise Provider Information and Constituent Services (EPICS)

• Our current system is dated and NM CYFD is moving to replace the 

current system with EPICS

• EPICS is a web-based data system developed by NM CYFD to align all 

programs 

• Phase I - Production October 2013

• Child Care provider background check

• CACFP to include sponsor roles

• Phase II (RTTT) – Current development, implementation date is 

December 2016

• Child Care Assistance

• On-line application and voucher (provider agreement)

• Child Care Licensing and Non-Licensed provider 

management

• Pre-K

• Phase III

• Summer Food Service Program

• Other NM CYFD programs



History of Monitoring/Regulating Non-

Licensed Providers

• 2000 – 2013 CACFP Food Sponsor Monitoring

• CACFP – Self certification by the provider

• Basic health and safety monitoring by CACFP 

• Provider training by NM CYFD and CACFP

• Support from NM CYFD Background Check Unit

• October 2013 – NM CYFD monitoring

• Comprehensive health and safety inspections

• Provider support/training by NM CYFD & CACFP

• Data systems support/monitoring by NM CYFD



Implementation Challenges

• NM CYFD started the health and safety inspection in 

October 2013
• Most homes needed support to become 

compliant 

• Provided technical assistance to come into 

compliance 

• Hiring and training staff  

• Underestimated the amount of staff needed due 

to additional support and training of Non-Licensed 

providers
• This included the travel time needed to reach 

providers

• Collaboration and alignment with multiple entities

• CACFP (sponsors), Background Check Unit, Child 
Care Assistance, Food Program, Registered Home 

Unit and Data Unit

• Difficulty with providers being at home for visits

• Retention of providers



Moving Forward

• Considering regulation amendments to include 

the following:
• Allow unannounced visits by NM CYFD and sponsoring 

agencies

• Require comprehensive background checks on 

household members over the age of eighteen 

• Update and strengthen language under caregiver’s 

responsibility of incident reporting

• Add a section on complaints to include priorities of 

severities and complaint guidelines
• Include additional health and safety language 

• Include language to limit media viewing, nap and rest 

requirements and wading and swimming pools



Moving Forward

• CCDBG Reauthorization Implementation 

• Increase quality 

• Implement additional training requirements 

along with necessary support

• Revise background checks to require checks 

every 5 years 

• Increase collaboration with providers and 
other partners

• NM Child Care Accountability Act 

• Increase child outcomes for providers 

receiving child care assistance funding 

• Increase data collection

• Review rates to support additional 

requirement of the Act





North Dakota-

Licensing and 

Monitoring
Presented by Sandra 
Hanretty, Early Childhood 
Regional Supervisor, N.D. 
Department of Human 
Services



License Exempt Providers
 Providers caring for 5 or fewer children, with no 

more than 3 children under 24 months, are 
exempt from licensing.

 Unlicensed Providers may apply for a Child Care 
Self-Declaration, which will give them access to 
CCDF.

 Unlicensed providers only caring for relatives may 
apply for an approved relative status, which only 
requires a state background check.

 In-home providers are unlicensed, but must go 
through the self-declaration process in order to be 
eligible for CCDF.



Approved Relatives

 ND only caring for relatives 

 Only requirement is a state based 

background check.

 Lowest rate of payment.



Child Care Self-Declaration
 CPR and First Aid Certification

 FBI fingerprint based background check prior 
to approval (CA/N registry, sex offender 
registry, state criminal check annually)

 4.5 hour basic health and safety training prior 
to approval (will increase with reauthorization)

 Pre-approval inspection and annual 
unannounced inspections to verify 
compliance with minimum health and safety 
requirements, N.D. Admin Code 75-03-07.1.



Enforcement and Compliance

 Correction orders

 Fiscal Sanctions

 Notice of Intent to Revoke

 Notice of Revocation

 Suspension

 Notice of Intent to Deny

 Notice of Denial



Challenges 

 North Dakota is facing a critical shortage 

of child care providers in all areas of the 

state.  Increased standards, while 

generally supported, lead to fewer 

providers.  Self-declaration numbers have 

decreased from 750 in 2009 to 220 today. 

It is challenging to increase the supply of 

childcare and the quality of childcare at 

the same time.



Strengths

 We have a better understanding of the type 
of care that providers are being reimbursed 
for.

 Lower quality providers who refuse to meet 
standards have dropped off the subsidy 
system.

 The increase in standards for self-declaration 
has helped some people see the self-
declaration as a stepping stone to licensing, 
and we have seen an increase in the number 
of licensed providers who have moved from 
self-declaration to licensing.



Specific Questions

 What precipitated the new policy 

requiring visits for self-declared and in-

home providers?

 Federal and state recommendations, 

review of budget and work force to 

determine if policy change was possible 

mid-budget cycle.



Specific Questions

 How does monitoring of in-home providers 

work? Is the child’s home monitored?

 In-home providers wishing to participate in 

subsidy must go through the self-

declaration process.  The child’s home and 

the provider’s qualifications are evaluated. 

The provider and the household members 

must receive the appropriate background 

checks.



Specific Questions

 Pushback and support for the new policy?

 Policy was generally supported; there was 

some concern by county social service 

employees regarding whether or not the 

additional monitoring work could be 

absorbed by current licensing staff.

 Major challenge in monitoring comes with 

cultural differences.



Training and Support
 Access to all approved training, including almost 

200 hours of free online training available.

 Let’s Explore-mini consultation program on a 
variety of topics, such as literacy, block play, and 
exploring nature. Offered through Child Care 
Aware-includes a resource packet valued at $100

 Quarterly newsletter from DHS which includes 
information, resources, tips.

 Access to start-up grants ($800-$1200) if they wish 
to move toward licensing.
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