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FOREWORD 
 

Licensing requirements govern child care facilities in the State of Oklahoma.  
These rules are minimum requirements for the care and protection of children in 
care outside their own homes.  They were developed by Oklahoma Department 
of Human Services (DHS) Child Care Services with input from individuals from 
various professions with expertise in child care, including providers; the Child 
Care Advisory Committee; and the public.  The requirements were approved by 
the DHS Director and the Governor of the State of Oklahoma pursuant to the 
Oklahoma Administrative Procedures Act. 

 
It is the intent of DHS that licensing requirements are clear, reasonable, fair and 
enforceable.  In the interest of serving the public, comments are welcomed and 
will be considered for future revisions or development of new requirements.  
Please complete the form below and send it to: 

 
Oklahoma Department of Human Services 

Child Care Services 
P.O. Box 25352 

Oklahoma City, OK  73125 
 

COMMENTS REGARDING LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

 Licensing Requirements for:  

 Reference:  Please give the cite and topic of the specific requirement to 
which you 
 

which you are referring, such as Section 81, regarding (re.) Definitions. 

 Section  re:  

 Section  re:  

 Recommendation: 

  

  

  

 Reason: 

  

  

  

   
Your Name  Date 

  
Return Address: Oklahoma Department of Human Services 

Child Care Services 
P.O. Box 25352 
Oklahoma City, OK  73125 
FAX (405) 522-2564 
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PART 5. REQUIREMENTS FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES  
AND LARGE FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES 

 
Section 80.  Purpose and policy of the law 
It is the declared purpose and policy of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing 
Act to ensure maintenance of minimum standards for the care and protection of children 
away from their own homes, to encourage and assist the child care facility in attaining 
maximum standards, and to work for the development of sufficient and adequate 
services for child care.  These requirements are presented as minimum requirements 
and safeguards to ensure the well-being of children.  They have been developed from 
existing knowledge of child development and experience in child care. 
 
Section 81. Definitions 

The following words and terms, when used in this Part shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly states otherwise: 

"Assistant caregiver" means an individual at least 16 years of age who assists the 
caregiver in caring for children. 

"Child" means an individual under 18 years of age. 
"Child Care Restricted Registry", or "Restricted Registry", also named 

"Joshua's List" means a registry for registrants who are prohibited from licensure, 
ownership, employment, having unsupervised access to children, and/or residence in 
child care facilities per Section 405.3 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes. 

"Department" means the Oklahoma Department of Human Services (DHS). 
"Family child care home" means a family home that provides care and supervision 

for seven or fewer children for part of the 24-hour day. 
"Infant" means a child birth up to 12 months of age. 
"Large family child care home" means a residential family home that provides 

care and supervision for eight to 12 children for part of the 24-hour day. 
"Parent" means an individual who is legally responsible for the child, such as a 

mother, father, legal custodian, or legal guardian. 
"Primary caregiver" means the caregiver who is present in the child care home and 

is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the program. 
"Relative" means an individual with the relationship, whether by marriage, blood, or 

adoption, of:  
(A) parent; 
(B) grandparent; 
(C) brother;  
(D) sister; 
(E) step-parent; 
(F) step-sister; 
(G) step-brother; 
(H) uncle; 
(I) aunt; or 
(J) cousin.  
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"Specialized service professional" means an individual from an academic 
discipline or field of expertise who provides individualized services to a child, such as 
behavioral or physical therapists. 

"Substitute caregiver" means an individual who is designated by the primary 
caregiver to provide substitute child care for short periods of time. 

"Toddler" means a child 12 through 23 months of age. 
"Unsupervised access to children" means an individual being present with 

children without personnel present who has a complete criminal history review. 
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Section 82. Necessity and issuance of license 
(a) License required.  No child care program may be legally operated or maintained in 
the State of Oklahoma after June 20, 1964, unless licensed by the Oklahoma 
Department of Human Services (DHS). 
(b) Application for license.  Application for license is made on DHS provided forms 
and in the manner prescribed.   
(c) License issued.  In order to provide care for children in a child care program, a 
license is obtained from DHS that is issued on the basis of meeting minimum 
requirements essential for the health, safety, and well-being of the children in care. 

(1) Children are not accepted into care until DHS permission is obtained. 
(2) The license granted applies to the ownership and location specified at the time 
the license is issued.  When ownership or location changes, DHS is notified. 
(3) The license is not transferable. 
(4) Per Section 401 et seq. of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes (10 O.S. § 401 et 
seq.), Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act (Licensing Act), persons 
identified as registrants on the Restricted Registry are prohibited from: 

(A) licensure as a child care program; 
(B) ownership of a child care program; 
(C) employment in a child care program;  
(D) having unsupervised access to children; and/or 
(E) residing in a child care facility. 

(d) Application denied or license revoked.  DHS may deny an application or revoke a 
license if the applicant or licensee violates any provision of the Licensing Act.   

(1) No application is denied or license revoked unless the licensee is given a 30 day 
notice in writing of the grounds for the proposed denial or revocation. 
(2) If the denial or revocation is protested within 30 days of receipt of the written 
notice, a hearing is conducted. 
(3) When DHS denies an application or revokes a license, the owner, business 
entity, or responsible entity cannot make application for a new child care program 
license within Oklahoma for five years following notification to the the owner, 
business entity, or responsible entity of the application denial or license revocation; 
and during the appeal process. 
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Section 84. Ages and number of children 
(a) Total number of children.  The maximum number of children in care at one 
time, on or off of the premises, does not exceed the number of children specified 
on the license. 

(1) The total number of children in care is limited to: 
(A) seven children, for a family child care home; 
(B) twelve children, for a large family child care home; and 
(C) includes children in (2) and (3) of this subsection. 

(2) The total number of children in care includes: 
(A) children younger than 5 years of age living in the home and present while 
children are in care; 
(B) foster children 12 years of age and younger living in the home and present 
while children are in care; and 
(C) the substitute's or assistant caregiver's children present while children are in 
care. 

(3) When the primary caregiver is licensed in an alternative residence other than his 
or her primary residence, the total number of children in care includes children 12 
years of age and younger not residing in the alternative residence. 

(b) One caregiver. 
(1) When only one caregiver is present, the total number and ages of children in 
care at any one time are: 

(A) seven children, with no more than two children younger than 2 years of age; 
(B) six children, with no more than three children younger than 2 years of age; or 
(C) five children of any age. 

(2)  Examples of number and ages of children are described in this paragraph. 
Total Number of Children in Care  Under 2 Years  2 Years and Older 

7     0   7 
7     1   6 

   7     2   5 
   6     3   3 
   5     4   1 
   5     5   0 

(c) Two caregivers.  Two caregivers are required to provide care when: 
(1) seven children are in care and more than two children are younger than 2 years 
of age; or 
(2) six children are in care and more than three children are younger than 2 
years of age. 

(d) Additional staff provisions are made for enrollment of children with disabilities 
requiring individual attention. 
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Section 85. Caregiver requirements  
 (a) Caregiver responsibilities.  Caregiver responsibilities in (1) through (15) of this 
subsection are met. 

(1) Primary caregiver.  The primary caregiver is present in the home at least 80 
percent of weekly-operating hours and is responsible for the day-to-day program 
operation.  The sole proprietor is the primary caregiver. 
(2) Care and supervision.  The caregiver provides children's care and supervision 
at all times, both indoors and outdoors. 

(A) Caregivers prevent and respond to allergies and life-threatening conditions 
by: 

(i) being aware of children's known food and life-threatening allergies; 
(ii) knowing the location of life-threatening condition medications; and 
(iii) ensuring life-threatening condition medications, such as epinephrine pens 
and rescue inhalers, are in close proximity to the child for immediate 
administration when needed, including outdoors when the child is outside, 
during transportation, or on field trips.  However, medications are inaccessible 
to children. 

(B) Supervision of children means observing, overseeing, and guiding a child or 
group of children, including: 

(i) awareness of, and responsibility for, each child's ongoing activity and, 
being near enough to intervene when needed;  
(ii) observation of infants at least every 15 minutes while awake or sleeping; 
and 
(iii) observation of children 1 year of age and older at least every 15 minutes 
while in cribs and playpens. 

(3) Outdoor play supervision.  In addition to the requirements in (2) of this 
subsection, the caregiver remains outdoors with children at all times when: 

(A) there is a potentially hazardous situation, such as a pool on the premises or a 
trampoline in the outdoor play area; 
(B) there is access to a dog(s) outdoors; 
(C) there are children 3 years of age and younger present; or 
(D) the outdoor area is not completely fenced. 

(4) Overnight care supervision.  When children are in care overnight and more 
than one caregiver is required due to the children's ages and number, at least one 
caregiver is awake at all times. 
(5) Assistant and substitute caregivers.  When the primary caregiver employs an 
individual to assist with or provide children's care and supervision in the primary 
caregiver's absence, the primary caregiver ensures the assistant or substitute 
caregiver is qualified, understands and complies with requirements, and has current 
cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid certification documentation, per 
Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 340:110-3-85(h). 

(A) Required records.  Prior to employment, a personnel information form 
provided by Oklahoma Department of Human Services (DHS) is completed.  
Relative references are not accepted.  Assistant and substitute personnel 
records are maintained at the home and available to Licensing on request. 
(B) Assistant caregiver.  When an assistant caregiver is employed to meet the 
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required staff to child ratio, the assistant caregiver is a responsible, mature, and 
healthy individual at least 16 years of age.  The caregiver is prohibited from 
leaving children alone in the care of individuals younger than 18 years of age. 
(C) Substitute caregiver.  A substitute caregiver, at least 18 years of age, is 
available to provide care for short periods of time in the caregiver's absence. 

(i) The substitute caregiver may be used in emergency situations and 
occasionally in non-emergency situations.  In non-emergency situations, the 
caregiver notifies parents in advance when the substitute will be providing 
care. 
(ii) The substitute's name, address, and phone number are provided to 
Licensing and posted with the other required emergency numbers. 

(6) Criminal history investigation verification.  The family child care owner or 
primary caregiver is responsible for submitting to the DHS Office of Background 
Investigations (OBI), criminal history investigations and obtaining dispositions on any 
charges shown on the report lacking dispositions. 
(7) Realistic expectations.  The caregiver demonstrates a capacity for setting 
realistic behavior and performance expectations based on the children's ages, 
abilities, and special needs. 
(8) Constructive influence.  The caregiver's family members and others living in 
the home accept the children in care and provide constructive influence.  There is an 
indication of a stable and harmonious home life. 
(9) Hazards.  The caregiver recognizes and acts to correct hazards to children's 
safety, both indoors and outdoors. 
(10) Child abuse and human trafficking reporting.  Reporting requirements in (A) 
and (B) of this paragraph are met. 

(A) Any person who has reason to believe a child was abused or neglected, per 
Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes (10A O.S. § 1-1-105) is 
required to report the matter promptly to the DHS Child Abuse and Neglect 
Hotline at 1-800-522-3511, per 10A O.S. § 1-2-101.  Failure to report is a 
misdemeanor offense and upon conviction is punishable by law.  Failure to report 
with prolonged knowledge, six months or more, of ongoing abuse or neglect is a 
felony offense. 
(B) Per 21 O.S. § 870, every person having reason to believe that a person or 
child-placing agency is engaging in the crime of human trafficking in children,  
per 21 O.S. § 866, reports the matter promptly to the Oklahoma Bureau of 
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control. 

(11) Licensing Notification.  The primary caregiver notifies Licensing within: 
(A) 24-hours of a child death while in care; 
(B) 24-hours of accidents involving transportation unless there were no injuries 
and only minor vehicle damage; 
(C) 24-hours of changes in liability insurance coverage; 
(D) 24-hours of a child's injury requiring emergency medical attention; 
(E) 24-hours of remodeling, changes, or physical facility damage affecting 
compliance with licensing requirements; 
(F) 24-hours of known arrests, criminal investigations, criminal charges, or child 
abuse investigations involving individuals living in the home, providing care, or 
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assisting with children's care; 
(G) 24-hours of any legal action against a caregiver involving or affecting a child 
in care or program operation; 
(H) 24-hours when an animal bites a child and the skin is broken; 
(I) five-calendar days of an individual moving into the home; and 
(J) 30-calendar days in advance of moving from one residence to another, unless 
an emergency exists.  The new home complies with licensing requirements. 

(12) License posting.  The permit or license is displayed in the home, including the 
denial or revocation notice, when applicable. 
(13) Other employment.  The caregiver is prohibited from conducting business in 
the home during the hours children are in care.  The primary caregiver is not 
employed outside the home during child care hours. 
(14) Foster care.  The caregiver may not provide therapeutic foster care.  The 
caregiver may provide foster care only with prior written approval from Licensing for 
each child placement. 

(A) The written approval includes the number and ages of foster children. 
(B) Foster children 12 years of age and younger are counted in the license 
capacity. 

(15) Inactive care.  A primary caregiver is in inactive status when care was not 
provided for more than 90-consecutive calendar days. 

(A) Prior to resuming care, the caregiver notifies Licensing to verify compliance 
with licensing requirements. 
(B) When care was not provided for more than 12-consecutive months, the family 
child care home is closed.  Prior to resuming care, the caregiver must reapply 
and be approved for a license. 

(b) Caregiver qualifications.  Caregiver qualifications are described in this subsection. 
(1) General.  The caregiver is a responsible, mature, healthy adult capable of 
understanding and complying with licensing requirements, and meeting children's 
needs.  The caregiver demonstrates good judgment, as evidenced by prudent and 
responsible behavior reasonably ensuring children's health, safety, and well-being.  
Caregivers interact with children without physical, psychological, or emotional 
punishment, mistreatment, neglect, or abuse. 

(A) Primary caregivers applying for a license after October 1, 2007, are at least 
21 years of age. 
(B) Primary caregivers applying for a license after October 1, 2007, have 
obtained a high school diploma or General Educational Development credential 
(GED). 
(C) Caregivers left alone with children have the ability to read and write for 
keeping required records, reading the licensing requirements, and administering 
medication. 
(D) Caregivers cooperate with Licensing during monitoring visits and DHS 
investigations. 

(2) Health.  The requirements relating to the caregiver's, assistant caregiver's, and 
household members' health in (A) - (C) of this paragraph are met. 

(A) General health.  Caregivers and household members where licensed care is 
provided are in good physical, mental, and emotional health.  When it is reported 
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or observed that a caregiver or household member has a physical, mental, or 
emotional condition that could negatively impact children's care, a licensed 
physician's statement is requested. 
(B) Tuberculosis testing.  The need for personnel tuberculin skin testing is 
based upon a local identified tuberculosis exposure, the degree of transmission 
risk of latent tuberculosis infection, the impact to public health and safety, and 
Oklahoma State Department of Health specific recommendations. 
(C) Immunizations.  There is documentation verifying children living in the home 
have or are in the process of obtaining the required immunizations at the 
medically appropriate time.  The schedule for required immunizations is found in 
Supplement III of DHS Publication No. 86-104, Licensing Requirements for 
Family Child Care Homes and Large Child Care Homes. 

(3) References.  The primary caregiver submits to Licensing the names of three 
non-relative references that may include a licensed personal or family physician. 

(c) Background investigations - general. 
(1) Required individuals.  Background investigations are required, per the 
Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act (Licensing Act), 10 O.S. § 404.1, 
unless an exception, per (3) of this subsection applies for: 

(A) owners, prior to authorization to operate; 

(B) responsible entities, prior to authorization to operate and, when there is a 
change in a responsible entity; 
(C) personnel applicants, prior to hire; however, the program may hire 
individuals, when: 

(i) the program has submitted a criminal history review request to OBI; 
(ii) only awaiting the national criminal history records search, based on 
fingerprint submission; 
(iii) criminal history review results from OBI are received by the program.  
However, until complete results are received, the individual does not have 
unsupervised access to children; and 
(iv) coming from another licensed program owned by the same business 
entity.  Individuals are not required to repeat the background investigation 
process, unless required, per (2) of this subsection, with the exception of 
criminal history restriction waivers, provided there is no break in employment 
from the business entity; 

(D) individuals with unsupervised access to children, prior to having access to 
children, unless an exception per (3) of this subsection applies; 
(E) adults living in the facility, prior to authorization to operate or moving into the 
facility of an existing program.  This includes children, who become 18 years of 
age while living in the facility; and 
(F) individuals having access to, or review of, fingerprint results, prior to access 
to or review of results. 

(2) Resubmission of criminal history reviews as of November 2, 2017.  Effective 
November 2, 2017, programs request a criminal history review process, excluding 
fingerprinting, for required individuals every five years.  However criminal history 
reviews requested prior to November 2, 2017, are resubmitted by November 1, 
2022.   
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(3) Non-required individuals.  Background investigations are not required for: 
(A) specialized service professionals who are not program personnel, provided 
parent releases are obtained, per OAC 340:110-3-88(c); 
(B) volunteer drivers transporting children on an irregular basis and not filling 
another position, provided parent releases are obtained, per OAC 340:110-3-
88(c); 
(C) contracted drivers not filling another position or having unsupervised access 
to children; and 
(D) contracted non-personnel not having unsupervised access to children, such 
as when the program contracts for special activities or facility repair. 

(d) Background investigations - Restricted Registry.  The program conducts an 
online search of the Restricted Registry, also named Joshua's List, when required, per 
(c) of this Section. 

(1) Non-registrants.  Non-registrants are individuals not recorded on the Restricted 
Registry. 
(2) Registrants.  Registrants are individuals recorded on the Restricted Registry, 
who are prohibited from licensure, ownership, employment, unsupervised access to 
children, or facility residence, and prohibited individuals, per (e) of this Section. 

(e) Background investigations – criminal history.  The program and required 
individuals complete the criminal history review process.  The program receives the 
completed criminal history review results from OBI, when required, per (c) of this 
Section. 

(1) Criminal history prohibitions.  Individuals with criminal history prohibitions are 
prohibited, per (f) of this Section.  Criminal history prohibitions include: 

(A) required registration under the: 
(i) Sex Offenders Registration Act, including state and national 
repositories; or 
(ii) Mary Rippy Violent Crime Offenders Registration Act; or 

(B) pleas of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest), or convictions of felonies 
involving: 

(i) murder, as defined in Section 1111 of Title 18 of United States Code; 
(ii) child abuse or neglect; 
(iii) crimes against children, including child pornography; 
(iv) spousal abuse; 
(v) crimes involving rape or sexual assault; 
(vi) kidnapping; 
(vii) arson; 
(viii) physical assault or battery; or  
(ix) a drug-related offense committed during the preceding five years, 
unless a criminal history restriction waiver, per (2) of this subsection is 
granted; or 

(C) pleas of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest), or convictions of violent 
misdemeanors committed as adults against a child involving: 

(i) child abuse or child endangerment; or 
(ii) sexual assault; or 

(D) pleas of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest), or convictions of 
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misdemeanors involving child pornography. 
(2) Criminal history restrictions.  Individuals with criminal history restrictions are 
prohibited, per (f) of this Section, unless a criminal history restriction waiver is 
granted.  Criminal history restrictions include pending charges, pleas of guilty or nolo 
contendere (no contest), or convictions of criminal activity involving: 

(A) gross irresponsibility or disregard for the safety of others; 
(B) violence against an individual; 
(C) sexual misconduct; 
(D) child abuse or neglect; 
(E) animal cruelty; 
(F) illegal drug possession, sale, or distribution; or 
(G) a pattern of criminal activity. 

(3) Criminal history restriction waivers.  Restriction waivers are described in (A) 
through (C) of this paragraph. 

(A) Restriction waivers may be requested for individuals having criminal history 
restrictions.  The owner, responsible entity, or primary caregiver completes 
requests on a DHS form. 
(B) Restriction waivers are not requested or granted for: 

(i) Restricted Registry registrants; 
(ii) individuals with criminal history prohibitions; or 
(iii) individuals whose sentence has not expired for criminal history 
restrictions, per (2) of this subsection. 

(C) Individuals identified in pending or denied restriction waiver requests are 
prohibited, per (f) of this Section. 

(f) Prohibited individuals. 
(1) Background investigation of required individuals.  The program does not 
allow a required individual to be the owner or responsible entity, to be employed, to 
live in the facility, or have: 

(A) access to children, such as being present at the facility during the hours of 
operation or present with the children in care while off-site, when the individual 
has criminal history: 

(i) prohibitions; or 
(ii) restrictions, unless a criminal history restriction waiver is granted.  
Individuals identified in a pending or denied restriction waiver request are 
prohibited; or 

(B) unsupervised access to children, when the individual is a Restricted Registry 
registrant. 

(2) Background investigation statements and consents.  Individuals are 
prohibited to be the owner or responsible entity, to be employed, or to live in the 
facility, when: 

(A) the individual refuses to consent to background investigations, per (c) of this 
Section; or 
(B) knowingly makes a materially-false statement in connection with criminal 
background investigations. 

(3) Child endangerment.  An individual whose health or behavior would endanger 
children's health, safety, or well-being is not permitted to live in the home or be on 
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the premises when children are in care. 
(4) Alcohol, drugs, and medication.  When children are in care, no caregiver is 
under the influence of: 

(A) alcohol or illegal drugs; or 
(B) medication impairing his or her functioning. 

(g) Child abuse and neglect-DHS database.  A DHS database search is conducted on 
individuals signing the request for license.  A confirmed or substantiated allegation of 
child abuse or neglect is considered when evaluating the applicant's qualifications and 
children's safety and well-being. 
(h) Professional development requirements.  Caregiver professional development 
requirements in (1) - (4) of this subsection are met.  

(1) General.  The primary caregiver is required to complete 12 clock-hours of 
professional development annually through workshops, training, videos, or individual 
position-related readings.  Only six clock-hours of videos or individual position-
related readings are counted annually toward the required 12 clock-hours. 
(2) CPR and first aid certification.  CPR and first aid requirements in (A) through 
(B) of this subsection are met. 

(A) Current CPR and first aid certification is required for: 
(i) the primary caregiver, prior to permission to operate or initial permit 
issuance; 
(ii) individuals caring for children alone, on or off  of the premises, including 
during transportation; and 
(iii) other caregivers, included in the adult-child ratio.  CPR and first aid 
certification is obtained within three months of beginning child care. 

(B) CPR and first aid certification is kept current, approved by Licensing, and 
maintained at the facility. 

(3) Health and safety training.  Prior to caring for children, caregivers obtain 
professional development in: 

(A) the prevention and control of infectious disease and injury prevention 
measures; 
(B) fire extinguisher use; 
(C) the prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; 
(D) the prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); 
(E) infant safe sleep practices; 
(F) car seat and transportation safety; 
(G) physical premise safety including identification of and, protection from 
hazards that can cause bodily injury, such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, 
or vehicular traffic; 
(H) the handling and storage of hazardous materials and appropriate bio-
contaminant disposal; 
(I) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting 
from a natural disaster or human-caused event; 
(J) immunizations; 
(K) medication administration; 
(L) the prevention of and, response to emergencies due to food and allergic 
reactions; 
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(M) the definition, identification, and mandatory reporting of child abuse and 
neglect; and 
(N) behavior and guidance methods; and 
(O) child development. 

(4) Safe-sleep training.  Prior to caring for infants, the primary caregiver and 
individuals caring for infants alone, obtain two or more clock-hours of professional 
development in safe-sleep practices from an Oklahoma Professional Development 
Registry (OPDR)-approved training organization. 
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Section 86. Home environment 
(a) Physical conditions. 

(1) Accessibility to licensing staff.  All areas of the home are accessible to 
licensing staff. 
(2) Indoor space.  There is minimum indoor space available for routine use by 
children in child care of not less than 35 square feet per child exclusive of hallways, 
bathrooms, kitchen, and space not intended for children's use.  Rooms used 
exclusively for napping are not counted toward the capacity. 
(3) Maintenance.  The home is in a good state of repair and maintained in a clean 
and sanitary condition, with operable utilities. 
(4) Toilet facilities.  The home has: 

(A) a sink with comfortably warm or tempered running water with the temperature 
not to exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit; 
(B) an operable toilet available for children's use; 
(C) soap for hand-washing and individual use towels; and 
(D) toilet paper within easy reach of children. 

(5) Hazards.  The premises are free of hazards, indoor and out. 
(A) All medicines, cleaning products, hazardous items, and smoking materials 
are inaccessible to children. 
(B) The premises are free of illegal drugs and paraphernalia. 
(C) Clear glass doors are plainly marked at the child's eye level to avoid 
accidental impact.  
(D) All stairways with four or more steps have a railing.  Indoor stairways are 
made inaccessible when infants and toddlers are in care. 

(6) Weapons.  All weapons are stored unloaded in a locked container, cabinet, or 
closet.  Ammunition is stored in a locked area separate from weapons. 
(7) Trampolines.  The use of trampolines by children in care is prohibited. 
(8) Lighting and ventilation.  Rooms used by children are lighted enough to 
accommodate activities with comfort and allow the caregiver to see children's facial 
features at all times.  Rooms used by children are ventilated. 
(9) Tobacco products.  When children are in care, smoking is prohibited inside the 
home and in the presence of children.  Other tobacco products are not used in the 
presence of children or in areas designated for children's use.  Parents are informed 
upon enrollment of the presence of smokers in the home. 
(10) Indoor temperature.  The indoor temperature is maintained between 65 and 80 
degrees Fahrenheit. 
(11) Screens.  When windows or doors are kept open, screens are maintained to 
minimize the entry of insects. 
(12) Outdoor play safety.  There is an outdoor play area on the premises of not 
less than 75 square feet per child. 

(A) This area must be hazard free, away from traffic, water, and other dangers. 
(B) A fence beginning at ground level and is in good repair is required.  Licensing 
may grant an exception when the safety of children can be ensured. 

(13) Outdoor play.  Children play outdoors daily when weather conditions do not 
pose a significant health risk. 
(14) Fire safety.  The home complies with all fire safety requirements, per 
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Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 340:110-3-97. 
(15) Water supply and waste disposal.  Water supply, sewage disposal, and solid 
waste disposal meet local city ordinances and Oklahoma Department of 
Environmental Quality regulations. 
(16) Water testing.  When not on a public water supply, water is tested initially and 
annually for lead, bacteria, and nitrates. 
(17) Questionable conditions.  If the fire, safety, or health conditions are 
questionable, the appropriate state or local agency is requested to inspect the home. 

(b) Water safety. 
(1) Supervision.  Any play activity involving water is supervised constantly. 
(2) Accessibility of ponds, pools, and hot tubs.  No ponds, pools, or hot tubs are 
left accessible to children. 
(3) Fencing.  Pools are fenced to prevent unsupervised access.  All doors and gates 
leading to the pool are locked.  There is: 

(A) a sturdy fence at least four feet high and cannot be easily climbed; or 
(B) a fence connecting to the top of an above-ground pool and extending two feet 
above the pool. 

(4) Wading pools.  The use of portable wading pools is prohibited. 
(5) Swimming.  In accordance with Oklahoma law, swimming pools used by the 
child care home are considered public bathing places and must be in compliance 
with the water quality, occupancy, and fencing standards in Design Standards and 
Operational Criteria for Public Bathing Places, Oklahoma State Department of 
Health Engineering Bulletin.  This includes wading pools, water parks, in-ground 
pools, and above-ground pools.  When children swim in a pool: 

(A) the caregiver is at or in the water and is appropriately dressed to enter the 
water at any time;  
(B) an individual with a Community Water Safety Certificate or a comparable 
certificate as approved by Licensing is in attendance at all times; and 
(C) the adult to child ratio for: 

(i) infants and toddlers is one adult to one child.  This adult is not counted in 
any other adult-child ratios.  The adults remain in direct physical contact with 
infants at all times during swimming or wading; and 
(ii) children two years and older is in accordance with OAC 340:110-3-84(a) 
through (d) for family child care homes and OAC 340:110-3-97.1(e) for large 
family child care homes.  When four or more children are two years of age 
through three years of age, one additional adult is required. 

(6) Restrictions. 
(A) The use of hot tubs by children in care is prohibited.  The hot tub must be 
equipped with a hard cover. 
(B) Swimming and wading is not permitted at a lake, pond, or other body of 
water. 

(c) Animals and household pets. 
(1) Patrons are advised of the presence of animals. 
(2) Animals are in good health, do not show evidence of carrying disease, are 
friendly, and do not present a threat to the health, safety, and well-being of children. 
(3) All contact between animals and children is supervised by a caregiver who is 
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close enough to remove the child immediately if the animal shows signs of distress 
or the child shows signs of treating the animal inappropriately. 
(4) Documentation of current rabies vaccinations administered by a licensed 
veterinarian for dogs and cats is filed on the premises.  
(5) Ferrets, turtles, and any wild or dangerous animals are kept in an area 
inaccessible to children. 
(6) Reptiles, such as crocodiles, alligators, poisonous snakes and lizards, pythons, 
and boa constrictors, are not kept on the premises.  
(7) Animals are restricted from areas where food is prepared or served and from 
children's sleeping surfaces. 
(8) Animal litter boxes are not located in food preparation areas and are not easily 
accessible to children in other areas of the home. 
(9) Outdoor play areas are cleaned of animal waste before children play outside. 
(10) If an animal bites a child and the skin is broken, the child's parent is contacted 
immediately.  The licensing staff and the county or state department of health are 
notified within 24 hours. 

(d) Emergency procedures.  Emergency procedures are required per OAC 340:110-3-
86.1. 
(e) Overnight care.  Overnight care can only be provided by a caregiver who is 
licensed at his or her primary residence. 
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Section 86.1. Emergency preparedness 
 (a) General.  All caregivers are familiar with emergency plans and procedures.  Written 
plans and procedures are: 

(1) developed by the primary caregiver; 
(2) maintained on site; 
(3) individualized to the program and hours of operation; and 
(4) followed, unless children's safety is at risk or emergency personnel provide 
alternative instructions during an emergency. 

(b) Emergency medical care plans.  Emergency medical care plans include: 
(1) a planned source of medical care, such as a hospital emergency room, clinic, or 
other medical facility or physician acceptable to parents; and 
(2) available emergency transportation. 

(c) Situations.  Emergency plans and procedures are maintained in a readily available 
and portable manner and include procedures for: 

(1) weather conditions, such as, but not limited to tornados, floods, blizzards, or ice 
storms; 
(2) fires, including wildfires; 
(3) man-made disasters, including chemical and industrial accidents; 
(4) human threats, including individuals with threatening behaviors, bomb threats, or 
terrorist attacks; 
(5) other natural or man-made disasters that could create structural damage to the 
facility or pose health hazards; and 
(6) utility disruption. 

(d) Child location and needs.  Emergency plans include procedures to: 
(1) account for each child's location during an emergency; and 
(2) address each child's needs, with additional considerations for: 

(A) 2-year-olds and younger; and 
(B) children with disabilities or chronic medical conditions. 

(e) Shelter-in-place.  Emergency plans include procedures for short and extended stay 
situations requiring children to stay inside the home, such as tornados or other weather 
emergencies. 
(f) Lock-down.  Emergency plans and procedures for situations threatening the safety 
of children and adults include: 

(1) notifying adults present in the home; 
(2) keeping children in designated safe locations inside the home; 
(3) encouraging children to remain calm and quiet; 
(4) securing entrances to the home; 
(5) preventing unauthorized individuals from entering the home; and 
(6) responding when outdoors and on field trips. 

(g) Evacuation.  Emergency plans include procedures for situations, such as a fire, 
requiring that children leave the home and meet at pre-determined locations. 
(h) Relocation.  Emergency plans include procedures for situations requiring children to 
move to an alternate location, such as bomb threats and wildfires, include: 

(1) pre-determined primary and secondary alternate locations, with prior approval 
from the contact individual at alternate locations; 
(2) relocating children, including a pre-determined transportation plan; and 
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(3) reuniting parents and children. 
(i) Reporting.  Emergency plans include procedures for notifying: 

(1) emergency authorities; 
(2) parents, including a method and backup method for how and when parents are 
notified; and 
(3) Licensing. 

(j) Phones.  The home has an operable phone.  Emergency information posted next to 
the phone includes: 

(1) the home's address; 
(2) a physician or clinic; 
(3) the fire department; 
(4) the police department;  
(5) poison control, 1-800-222-1222; and 
(6) a substitute caregiver. 

(k) First aid supplies.  First aid supplies are available in the home but made 
inaccessible to children.  Supplies are stored together in a portable container and 
include: 

(1) thermometer; 
(2) disposable non-porous, latex-free gloves; 
(3) blunt-tipped scissors; 
(4) tweezers; 
(5) bandage tape; 
(6) sterile gauze; 
(7) non-medicated adhesive strips; and 
(8) current standard first aid text or equivalent first aid guide. 

(l) Poisoning.  The caregiver immediately contacts poison control, 1-800-222-1222, 
with any suspected child poisonings. 
(m) Emergency supply kit.  Records and supplies available during an emergency 
include: 

(1) emergency records.  Records at minimum, include, the: 
(A) emergency plans and procedures, alternate location addresses, phone 
numbers, and contacts; 
(B) emergency contacts for all caregivers and enrolled children; and 
(C) full names of children and caregivers currently in attendance; and 

(2) emergency supplies.  Supplies gathered at the time of an emergency or 
maintained in a portable container at all times include, at least: 

(A) first aid supplies; and 
(B) children's prescribed medications, including life-threatening condition 
medications. 

(n) Drills.  Drills are conducted and follow the pre-determined emergency plans and 
procedures.  A record of drills is maintained at the home. 

(1) Monthly.  Monthly drills include: 
(A) fire drills conducted by evacuating and meeting at pre-determined locations; 
and 
(B) tornado drills conducted by sheltering in pre-determined on-site locations. 

(2) Annual.  Annual drills conducted include: 
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(A) locking-down by sheltering in pre-determined on-site locations; 
(B) relocating according to procedures of preparation to relocate but do not 
require physical relocation; 
(C) sheltering-in-place, requiring children stay inside the home, such as tornados 
and other weather emergencies; and 
(D) evacuating and meeting at pre-determined locations. 

(o) Emergency plans and procedures reviews.  The primary caregiver updates, as 
necessary, and reviews emergency plans and procedures: 

(1) at least once every 12 months; 
(2) when children with disabilities or chronic medical conditions enroll; 
(3) after a drill when procedural issues are identified; and 
(4) after an emergency as identified in this Section. 
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Section 87. Transportation 
(a) Driver qualifications.  All drivers must: 

(1) be at least 21 years old; 
(2) have an operator's license of the type appropriate for the vehicle that is valid in 
the driver's state of residence; 
(3) have no conviction within the last three years of driving under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs or other impaired driving offense; and 
(4) if driving a vehicle designed to transport ten or more passengers, complete 
training specific to the safe operation of that type of vehicle within three months of 
providing transportation to children. 

(b) Written permission.  The primary caregiver maintains on file written permission 
from the parent or guardian to transport children. 
(c) Verifications.  The vehicle is covered by liability insurance. 
(d) Records.  The driver is provided the names of the children being transported and a 
method to contact the children's parents or guardians in case of an emergency. 
(e) Passenger restraints.  Children transported are properly secured in a child 
passenger restraint system (car seat) or individual seat belt, in compliance with 
applicable state law, per 47 O.S. Section 11-1112. See Supplement V, Child Passenger 
Restraint System. 

(1) The car seat is: 
(A) federally approved; 
(B) installed according to the manufacturer's instructions; 
(C) appropriate to the height, weight, and physical condition of the child, 
according to the manufacturer's instructions; and 
(D) properly maintained. 

(2) Each seat belt:  
(A) is properly anchored to the vehicle; and 
(B) fits snugly across the child's hips or securely anchors the car seat. 

(3) Children age 12 years and younger are prohibited from sitting in the front seat of 
an airbag equipped passenger vehicle unless an airbag cut off switch is installed and 
activated or if the vehicle has airbags equipped with weight sensitive devices.  If a 
child 12 years of age or younger must be placed in front of an air bag, because all 
other positions are taken, it must be a child whose age and weight requires a 
forward facing harness seat. 

(f) Vehicle requirements.  All vehicles used to transport children have: 
(1) door locks.  Doors are kept locked when the vehicle is moving; 
(2) a first aid kit as described in Section 86(d)(4); and 
(3) an operable heater, capable of maintaining a temperature of 65 degrees 
Fahrenheit in the vehicle, and a ventilation system. 

(g) Supervision and safety. 
(1) Children are never left unattended. 
(2) Safe conduct to and from all vehicles and safe off-street loading space is 
provided to protect children from: 

(A) backing vehicles; 
(B) being between vehicles; and 
(C) all traffic hazards. 
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Section 88. Records 
(a) General requirements.  Children's records are kept on Oklahoma Department of 
Human Services (DHS) provided forms or on forms containing the same information.  
Records are kept current and easily accessible.  DHS staff are allowed access to all 
records. 
(b) Caregiver records.  Records on all caregivers, including the primary caregiver, 
assistant caregivers, and substitute caregivers, are completed and maintained in the 
home.  Records include: 

(1) staff information forms provided by DHS; 
(2) criminal history investigations with records maintained in a confidential manner; 
(3) training documentation; 
(4) attendance records for each caregiver that reflect days and hours worked and 
are maintained on file for 120 calendar days; and 
(5) documentation of requests and/or results of criminal history reviews. 

(c) Children's records. 
(1) Identification and health records include: 

(A) the child's name, birth date, parents' names, home addresses, places of 
employment, and telephone numbers; 
(B) the names and telephone numbers of responsible persons to contact in an 
emergency when a parent cannot be located promptly; 
(C) permission of a parent authorizing the caregiver to transport the child to 
emergency medical care; 
(D) names and relationships of persons authorized to pick up the child; 
(E) health information, including immunization records;  
(F) name, address, and telephone number of the child's physician; 
(G) when applicable, medication and transportation permission; and 
(H) the date child began care. 

(2) When a volunteer driver or specialized service professional does not have a 
criminal history review per OAC 340:110-3-85(c), parent releases indicating this 
understanding are signed and dated prior to unsupervised access to children for 
each volunteer driver or professional. 
(3) Daily attendance records, including arrival and departure times for each child, are 
maintained and on file a minimum of 120 calendar days. 

(d) Public access to records - Compliance Posting. 
(1) DHS provided, "Notice to Parents"; is posted in a conspicuous location within 
clear view at the main entrance of the facility. 
(2) Child welfare investigative summary with confirmed or substantiated findings for 
120-calendar days from the completion of the investigation is posted within clear 
view of the main entrance of the facility. 
(3) The granted criminal history restriction waiver notification for individuals who 
have criminal histories as defined in OAC 340:110-3-85 are posted in a prominent 
place for as long as they are employed by the program or living in the facility. 

(e) Compliance file.  A compliance file accessible to staff, parents, and others contains: 
(1) the most recent child care licensing monitoring report provided by the licensing 
specialist; 
(2) the following documents issued by Licensing within the last 120 calendar days: 
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(A) child care licensing monitoring reports and licensing correspondence; 
(B) notice to comply;  
(C) licensing complaints; and 
(D) child welfare investigative summary with findings of unconfirmed or 
unsubstantiated to include findings of services not needed, ruled out, or services 
recommended; and 

(3) child welfare investigative summary with findings of confirmed or substantiated, 
for one year from the completion of the investigation. 
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Section 89.1. Parent communication 
 (a) Policy.  A written statement of the caregiver's business policy is provided to 
parents, including: 

(1) the location and accessibility of the licensing compliance file; 
(2) days and hours of operation, including holidays the program is closed; 
(3) procedure for: 

(A) receiving and releasing a child from care, including a method of verifying the 
identity of a caller or individual who picks up a child; 
(B) notifying parents if a concern exists when a child does not arrive as 
scheduled; 
(C) handling illness and injuries; 
(D) storing and administering children's medication; 
(E) notifying parents of field trips; and 
(F) transporting children; 

(4) care of ill children; 
(5) mandatory reporting of child abuse or neglect;  
(6) behavior and guidance policy; and 
(7) expulsion policy. 

(b) Well-being of the child.  The caregiver informs parents of the child's physical and 
emotional well-being. 
(c) DHS child care information.  Oklahoma Department of Human Services (DHS) 
Publication No. 87-91, The Parents' Guide to Selecting Quality Child Care, is made 
available to parents upon their child's enrollment. 
(d) Access to the home.  Parents are provided access to all areas of the home used 
for child care during the hours children are in care. 
(e) Insurance.  A child care facility shall maintain liability insurance in accordance with 
Section 404.3 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes. 

(1) When liability insurance is maintained, Form 07LC092E, Insurance Verification, 
including a certificate of insurance obtained from the insurance agent is completed 
annually, maintained at the facility, and made available to Licensing. 
(2) When liability insurance is not maintained or the program reports they are self-
insured, Form 07LC093E, Insurance Exception Notification, is posted in a 
conspicuous location within clear view of the main entrance to the facility. 

(f) Parent notifications.  Parents are provided information regarding liability insurance 
and the compliance file. 

(1) Parents complete DHS Forms 07LC045E, Insurance Notification, and 07LC046E, 
Compliance File Notification, every 12 months.  Forms are maintained at the facility. 
(2) When the child is enrolled, parents are provided copies of DHS Forms 
07LC093E, Insurance Exception Notification, and 07LC084E Notice to Parents. 
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Section 90. Child health 
(a) Immunizations.  Children have or are in the process of obtaining all required 
immunizations at the medically appropriate time.  See Supplement III, Minimum 
Immunization Requirements. 
(b) Medication.   

(1) Original container.  Medications must be provided by the parent in the original 
container and clearly labeled with the child's name and directions. 
(2) Parental permission.  Medication is accompanied with written dated permission 
from the parent giving the exact dosage and times to be administered. 
(3) Records.  To avoid duplication, each dosage administered is recorded by the 
caregiver and the record is readily available to parents. 
(4) Storage.  All medications are properly stored separately from food and kept in a 
safe place out of children's reach. 
(5) Medication injections.  When medication is administered by injection, the 
requirements in this paragraph apply. 

(A) Syringes, needles, and lancets are only used one time. 
(B) Approved sharps containers are used for any medical waste that is sharp or 
could cause a cut or wound.  Examples include syringes, needles, and lancets 
used to administer insulin or test blood sugar. 
(C) When the container is full, arrangements for disposal are made with the local 
pharmacy, county health department, or personal physician. 

(c) Ill children.  
(1) Contagious illness.  Any child showing symptoms of contagious illness is 
separated from the group. 
(2) Disease control.  The local or state health department is notified upon discovery 
of any case of hepatitis, meningitis, Shigellosis, Giardiasis, measles, rubella, 
whooping cough, tuberculosis, E coli 0157:H7, Salmonellosis, or any Haemophilus 
influenza invasive disease in any person associated with the family child care home. 
(3) Notification of parents.  Parents of the ill child are notified as symptoms 
develop or change. 
(4) Decision to provide care.  When symptoms of illness are present, the primary 
caregiver determines whether to provide care for the child, based upon the apparent 
degree of illness, other children present, and facilities available to provide care for 
the ill child. 

(d) Cleanliness.   
(1) Handwashing - caregivers.  Caregivers wash their hands with soap and 
running water: 

(A) prior to food preparation; 
(B) before feeding children, or eating; 
(C) after diapering or toileting; 
(D) after touching or cleaning up body fluids, including wiping noses; and 
(E) after handling or feeding pets. 

(2) Handwashing - children.  Caregivers ensure that children wash their hands with 
soap and running water: 

(A) before eating;  
(B) after toileting; 
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(C) after handling pets; 
(D) after playing outdoors; and 
(E) after wiping their noses. 

(3) Handwashing supplies.  Soap and clean individual or paper towels are easily 
accessible to the caregiver and children for handwashing. 
(4) Children's clothing.  A child's clothing is changed immediately following a 
toileting accident or in other situations when clothing becomes unsanitary.  Soiled 
clothing is placed in a sealed, moisture-proof bag and sent home. 
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Section 91. Daily routine and equipment 
(a) Program.  The caregiver provides a balanced program with opportunities for 
learning, indoor and outdoor play, rest time, and meals.   
(b) Media use.  When used, television, videos, computers, electronic games, cell 
phones, social media, and other types of media are chosen with discretion, selectivity, 
and are: 

(1) non-violent; 
(2) non-vulgar; 
(3) non-sexually explicit; 
(4) culturally sensitive; and 
(5) age-appropriate, according to accepted rating systems. 

(c) Play equipment.  A variety of indoor and outdoor play equipment meeting children's 
varied developmental needs and interests is readily accessible. 

(1) Equipment is available from categories including: 
(A) art supplies; 
(B) books; 
(C) large muscle equipment; 
(D) musical equipment; 
(E) blocks and accessories; 
(F) dramatic play materials; 
(G) manipulative toys; and 
(H) science materials. 

(2) Equipment is maintained in good working condition, and is clean, safe, and free 
from rough edges, sharp corners, pinch and crush points, splinters, and exposed 
nails or bolts. 
(3) Outdoor equipment, such as swings, slides, and climbing apparatus is not 
located on a hard surface.  
(4) Equipment not designed to be portable is anchored firmly to the ground. 
(5) All equipment is placed in a safe location. 

(d) Tables and chairs.  Tables and chairs that ensure children's safety and comfort are 
provided for meals and snacks. 
(e) Prohibited equipment.  Children in care are prohibited from use of: 

(1) infant walkers; 
(2) heavy metal or molded plastic swings, such as animal figures; and 
(3) swinging gates used as play equipment. 
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Section 91.1. Rest time 
(a) Place to rest. 

(1) Each child has an appropriately sized, individual place to rest, such as a crib, 
playpen, bed, cot, or mat, with clean, individual bedding.  The place to rest is 
maintained in a clean, sanitary condition, and in good repair. 
(2) Waterbeds, sofas, soft mattresses, inflatable mats, bassinettes, stacked cribs, 
pillows, beanbag chairs, and other soft surfaces are prohibited as infant sleeping 
surfaces. 

(b) Mats.  Mats are not used for overnight care.  When used for rest time, each mat is at 
least two inches thick and covered with a fitted, durable, washable, waterproof material. 
(c) Cribs and playpens.  A crib, port-a-crib, or playpen with a properly-fitted firm 
waterproof mattress or pad and a tight-fitting sheet is used for each child younger than 1 
year of age. 
(d) Crib, port-a-crib, and playpen safety features and sleep environments.  Infants 
sleep in appropriate rest equipment and environments described in (1) through (9) of 
this subsection. 

(1) Cribs, including portable cribs that can be folded or collapsed without being 
disassembled, meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) full-
size and non-full size crib standards, per Sections 1219 and 1220 of Title 16 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations. 
(2) Verification of compliance with CPSC standards is maintained for duration of crib 
use. 
(3) Mattresses are tight-fitting with no more than one inch between the mattress and 
crib. 
(4) Pillows, covers, blankets, quilts, comforters, sheepskins, bumper pads, and other 
soft products or bedding, are not permitted inside and on the side of infant cribs, 
playpens, or port-a-cribs. 
(5) While in rest equipment: 

(A) pacifiers are not attached to the infant or his or her clothing; and 
(B) bibs are not placed around the infant's neck. 

(6) Sleep positioners and elevated mattresses are prohibited, unless a medical 
reason documented by a licensed physician is provided.  Documentation is 
maintained at the child care home. 
(7) Play equipment, and other items, except for pacifiers, are not placed inside, 
above, or attached to the sides of the infant rest equipment, unless there is a 
medical reason documented by a licensed physician for a monitor or other device.  
Documentation is maintained at the facility.  Mobiles may be securely attached or 
hung above the crib provided no part of the mobile is within the child's reach. 
(8) When an infant arrives asleep or falls asleep in inappropriate rest equipment, the 
infant is immediately moved to appropriate rest equipment. 
(9) Infants are protected from overheating by adjusting room temperature and 
clothing. 

(e) Sleep positioning. 
(1) To reduce the risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), infants younger 
than 12 months of age are placed on their back for sleeping unless a medical reason 
is documented by a licensed physician requesting the infant not sleep in this 
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position.  Documentation is maintained at the facility. 
(2) Infants able to turn themselves over are placed initially on their back for sleeping 
but allowed to sleep in a position they prefer. 
(3) Children's heads and faces are not covered. 

(f) Swaddling.  Infants, birth through three months of age may be swaddled with an 
infant-sized, thin fabric, such as a receiving blanket, only when: 

(1) the infant is not mobile enough to move the fabric over his or her face; and 
(2) requested in writing by the parents.  Requests are maintained by the caregiver. 
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Section 92.  Behavior and guidance 
(a) Positive guidance.  Discipline is constructive and educational in nature and 
appropriate to the child's age and circumstances.  See Supplement VIII, Child Guidance 
Principles. The caregiver: 

(1) recognizes and encourages acceptable behavior; See Supplement IX, Ages and 
Stages of Child Development. 
(2) teaches by example and uses fair and consistent rules in a relaxed atmosphere 
with discipline that is relevant to the child's behavior; 
(3) supervises with an attitude of understanding and firmness; 
(4) redirects children by stating alternatives when behavior is unacceptable; 
(5) when necessary, intervenes as quickly as possible to ensure the safety of all 
children; 
(6) gives clear directions and provides guidance appropriate to the child's level of 
understanding; 
(7) speaks so that children understand they and their feelings are acceptable but 
unacceptable action or behavior is not; 
(8) encourages children to control their own behavior, cooperate with others, and 
solve problems by talking things out; 
(9) uses safe, natural, and logical consequences to address inappropriate behavior; 
and 
(10) uses "time-out" periods only as necessary to enable the child to gain control of 
himself or herself.  Time-out periods do not exceed five minutes.  No more than one 
minute of time-out for each year of a child's age is recommended.  Time-out periods 
are not required to be completed should the child regain control. 

(b) Acts prohibited.  The caregiver is prohibited from: 
(1) subjecting children to punishment of a physical nature, such as shaking, striking, 
spanking, biting, swatting, thumping, pinching, popping, shoving, spatting, yanking, 
hair pulling, slamming, excessive exercise, or any cruel treatment that may cause 
pain; 
(2) subjecting children to punishment of a psychological nature, such as humiliation, 
making derogatory or sarcastic remarks about them or their families, or using harsh 
or profane language, or making actual or implied threats of physical punishment;  
(3) punishing or threatening children in association with food, rest, or toilet learning; 
(4) putting anything in or on a child's mouth as punishment;  
(5) seeking or accepting parental permission to use any punishment or act prohibited 
by this subsection; 
(6) restraining a child by any means other than holding. The child is only held as 
long as is necessary for the child to regain control; 
(7) isolating a child without supervision or placing the child in a dark area; 
(8) permitting a child to discipline other children; and 
(9) punishing an entire group due to the actions of a few children. 
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Section 93. Infants, toddlers, and two-year-olds 
(a) Responding to needs.  The caregiver holds, cuddles, talks to, and sings to infants 
and toddlers and understands and responds to their particular needs. 
(b) Daily routine.  The daily routine is adapted to the individual needs of each infant 
and toddler and fits as much as possible into the schedule set up by the parent.   

(1) The daily schedule is accessible and followed with reasonable regularity. 
(2) Children are not left for more than 30 minutes while awake in playpens, swings, 
high chairs, or stationary activity centers. 

(c) Bottle-feeding.  Bottles are not propped by any means at any time. 
(1) Infants up to the age of six months are held while bottle-fed. 
(2) Infants of more than six months are held while bottle-fed until they are able to 
hold their own bottle securely. 
(3) Children are not given bottles in cribs or moving swings due to increased risk of 
choking, ear infections, and tooth decay. 
(4) Breast milk is refrigerated or frozen until immediately before feeding. 
(5) Bottles of premixed formula are refrigerated until immediately before feeding. 
(6) Unused breast milk or formula left in the bottle is disposed of after feeding. 
(7) Bottles of formula or breast milk are not warmed in a microwave oven. 

(d) Diaper-changing.  Diapers are changed promptly when wet or soiled. 
(1) A clean nonporous surface or pad is used for diaper changes and sanitized after 
each use.  Care is taken to prevent spread of germs. 
(2) Caregivers wash their hands thoroughly with soap and warm running water after 
each diaper change. 

(e) Availability and disposal of diapers.   
(1) Sufficient quantities of clean diapers are available.  
(2) A closed container for soiled diapers is provided and used. 

(f) Toilet learning.  Toilet learning is a relaxed, pleasant activity.  
(1) The caregiver shares the child's toilet learning progress with the parent. 
(2) Training pants or underwear are changed promptly when wet or soiled. 
(3) Fecal content may be disposed of in a toilet, but soiled diapers or training pants 
are not rinsed in the toilet. 

(g) Potty chairs.  Potty chairs are emptied and sanitized after each use. 
(h) Infant car seats.  Infants are not permitted in infant car seats except during 
emergency drills, transportation, and arrival and departure with parents. 
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Section 94. Food and nutrition 
(a) Daily requirement.  A child remaining in the family child care home for longer than a 
four-hour period is served a balanced meal that provides at least one-third of the child's 
total daily nutritive requirement.  See Supplement XI, Meal and Snack Patterns.  
(b) Snacks.  Snacks are provided at mid-morning and mid-afternoon when the interval 
between regular meals is four hours or longer. 
(c) Provision of food.   

(1) The caregiver provides the food for all children who are able to eat regular food.  
The caregiver may require the parent to provide food for an infant or child requiring a 
special diet.   
(2) Second servings are available for children. 

(d) Encouragement to children.  Children are encouraged to try new food but are not 
forced to eat or punished for not eating. 
(e) Menus.  Weekly menus are planned in advance, readily available, and closely 
followed.  Reasonable substitutions are permissible. 
(f)  Water.  Water is offered to children at various times throughout the day. 
(g) Prohibited foods.  Foods that may not be served or offered to children are: 

(1) home-canned foods; 
(2) raw seed sprouts; 
(3) prepackaged unpasteurized juices, milk, or juices that have a warning label; 
(4) unpasteurized milk from animals; 
(5) raw or undercooked animal foods, such as hamburger, fish, or eggs; 
(6) lightly cooked or uncooked foods containing raw shell eggs, such as meringue, 
eggnog, ice cream, or egg beverages. 

(h) Food storage.  Food is covered and protected from contamination and spoilage 
while being obtained, stored, prepared, or served. See Supplement XII, Safe Food 
Handling Recommendations. 

(1) All equipment and surfaces are maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.  
(2) Refrigerated foods are maintained at 41 degrees Fahrenheit or below.  Stored 
frozen foods are maintained frozen.  A thermometer is located in the refrigerator. 
(3) Chemicals and toxins are not stored in the food storage area. 
(4) Dishes washed by hand are sanitized and air-dried. See Supplement X, 
Updated Bleach/Water Concentration Information.  

(i) Dishes, cups, and eating utensils.  Each child is provided with clean individual 
dishes, cups, and eating utensils.  Disposable items are used only one time.  
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Section 97. Fire safety 
(a) General requirements.  It is the responsibility of the primary caregiver to ensure 
compliance with the construction and equipment requirements contained in this 
subsection.  State or local fire officials are consulted as needed. 

(1) Any building used as a family child care home meets local minimum building 
codes.  In localities where a building code does not exist, construction conforms to 
the current state adopted building code. 
(2) If care is provided on the second floor of a multi-family dwelling, the structure 
meets the life safety code provisions for multi-family occupancies. 
(3) Electrical wiring is installed in accordance with state and local codes or ordinances. 
(4) All heating and air conditioning equipment is installed in accordance with state 
and local building codes. 
(5) Water heaters are equipped with a pressure-relief valve. 

(b) Exits. 
(1) Each room used for child care has at least two means of escape, at least one of 
which is a door leading to an unobstructed path to the outside.  The second means 
of escape may be an unobstructed, operable window not less than 820 square 
inches and large enough to allow all adults and children to escape.  
(2) Security bars, when present, must be hinged with a quick release mechanism 
inside the home that requires one motion to operate, or be unlocked during the 
hours of child care. 
(3) Care of children, including naptime, is not provided for children three years or 
younger on any floor above ground level. 
(4) No story above the second level, excluding basements, is used for child care.  
(5) When care is provided on the second level, the second route of escape must be 
a safe means to ground level. 
(6) Space that is accessible only by a ladder, folding stairs, or through a trap door is 
not used for child care. 
(7) When care of children is permitted on the floor below ground level, basement, at 
least one exit is a door leading directly to the outside at ground level.  The second 
means of escape may be an unobstructed, operable window not less than 820 
square inches and large enough to allow all adults and children to escape.  Care of 
children is not provided more than one story below the ground. 
(8) Every stairway is maintained free of obstructions and provides safe passage. 
(9) Stairways within the exits with four or more steps have a railing. 

(c) Doors. 
(1) Each door that is a means of exiting the home opens without a key and is no less 
than 28 inches wide.   
(2) Every closet door latch is such that children can open the door from inside the closet. 
(3) Every bathroom door lock is designed to permit opening of the locked door from 
the outside with a readily accessible opening device. 

(d) Smoke detectors. 
(1) There is at least one operable smoke detector on each level of the home located 
at the top of any stairs. 
(2) Any room used by children for playing or sleeping, except the kitchen, has a 
smoke detector. 
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(3) Smoke detectors are tested monthly and a record of the date is documented. 
(e) Carbon monoxide detectors. 

(1) One operable carbon monoxide detector is installed according to manufacturer 
instructions when there is a fuel burning appliance in the home. 
(2) Carbon monoxide detectors are tested monthly and a record of the date is 
documented. 

(f) Fire extinguishers.   
(1) A portable fire extinguisher, Class ABC or BC, with a gauge is provided for the 
cooking area.  It is readily accessible. 
(2) Disposable fire extinguishers with a gauge are acceptable. 
(3) Extinguishing devices are UL-approved. 
(4) All fire extinguishers are replaced or serviced and tagged by a competent 
authority every three years or when the seal is broken. 

(g) Heating equipment. 
(1) Unvented, ventfree, or open-face heaters are not used while children are in care. 
(2) Portable heaters are not used while children are in care, with the exception of 
electric oil-filled space heating units. 
(3) A guard is provided to protect children from hot surfaces and open flames. 
(4) Fireplaces in use while children are in care have solid doors that are kept closed. 
(5) A stove or combustion heater is not located where it would prevent escape in 
case of malfunctioning of the stove or heater.  
(6) Heating equipment not specifically designed or installed as a normal heating 
source is not used for that purpose. 

 (h) Electrical services. 
(1) The use of temporary wiring or extension cords as permanent wiring is 
prohibited. 
(2) Electrical outlet covers are used in all areas occupied by children. 
(3) An operable flashlight is available at all times. 

(i) Mobile homes. 
(1) Documentation is maintained that a mobile home, when used as the family child 
care home and manufactured after June 25, 1976, is in compliance with the current 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) standards. 
(2) The mobile home is anchored and enclosed to ground level with a wind-resistant 
material. 
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Section 97.1. Requirements for large family child care homes 
(a) Large family child care home.  A large family child care home is a residential 
family home providing care and supervision for eight to 12 children for part of the 24 
hour day. 
(b) Requirements.  Large family child care homes meet required rules, per Oklahoma 
Administrative Code (OAC) 340:110-3-81 through 340:110-3-97, except as otherwise 
provided in this Section. 
(c) Mobile homes.  Prior to caring for children, large family child care homes operated 
in a mobile home are required to obtain an approved state or local fire inspection. 
(d) Capacity.  Large family child care homes are required to meet the rules found in 
OAC 340:110-3-84(a), and the total number of children in care in a large family child 
care home is limited to 12. 
(e) Supervision of outdoor play.  Large family child care homes meet the rules in 
OAC 340:110-3-85(a)(3) pertaining to outdoor play supervision, except when two or 
more personnel are needed to meet the required adult-child ratio.  At least one 
personnel is present with children outdoors at all times. 
(f) Required number of caregivers.  Large family child care homes are exempt from 
the requirements regarding the number of caregivers, per OAC 340:110-3-84(b) and (c).  
The number of caregivers required in a large family child care home is described in this 
subsection. 

(1) One caregiver.  One caregiver may care for up to: 
(A) five children of any age; 
(B) six children, with no more than three children younger than 2 years of age; 
(C) seven children, with no more than two children younger than 2 years of age; 
(D) seven children, when the children are 2 years of age and older; 
(E) eight children, when the children are 3 years of age and older; 
(F) 10 children, when the children are 4 years of age and older; or 
(G) 12 children, when the children are 5 years of age and older. 

(2) Two caregivers.  Two caregivers may care for up to: 
(A) eight children younger than 2 years of age; or 
(B) 12 children, with no more than six children younger than 2 years of age. 

(3) Three caregivers.  Three caregivers may care for up to 12 children, with no 
more than eight children younger than 2 years of age. 

(g) Caregiver qualifications.  Primary, assistant, and substitute caregivers at large 
family child care homes are required to meet qualifications, per OAC 340:110-3-85(a) 
and (b), except as otherwise described in this subsection. 

(1) Primary caregiver.  The primary caregiver or individuals substituting for the 
primary caregiver are at least 21 years of age.  For individuals applying after 
October 1, 2007, the primary caregiver: 

(A) has six months of satisfactory experience as the primary caregiver in a 
licensed family child care home in Oklahoma; and 
(B) meets one of the requirements specified in (i) through (v): 

(i) a high school diploma or General Educational Development (GED) 
credential and 12 college credit hours in child development or early childhood 
education; 
(ii) an Oklahoma Competency Certificate; 
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(iii) a current Child Development Associate (CDA) credential; 
(iv) a current Certified Childcare Professional (CCP) credential; or 
(v) an associate's or bachelor's degree in child development or early 
childhood education. 

(2) Assistant caregiver.  The assistant caregiver or individuals substituting for the 
assistant caregiver are at least 16 years of age and have current cardio-pulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR) and first aid certification documentation, per OAC 340:110-3-
85(h).  Children are not left alone in the care of any individual younger than 21 years 
of age. 
(3) Substitute caregiver.  Individuals substituting for the primary caregiver are at 
least 21 years of age and have current CPR and first aid certification documentation, 
per OAC 340:110-3-85(h). 

(h) Professional development requirements.  The primary caregiver and assistant 
caregiver at large family child care homes are required to meet the professional 
development requirements, per OAC 340:110-3-85(h), except as otherwise described in 
this subsection. 

(1) The primary caregiver is required to complete 15-clock hours of professional 
development annually. 
(2) The assistant caregiver is required to complete 12-clock hours of professional 
development annually. 
(3) Only six hours of videos or individual position-related readings is counted toward 
the annual required professional development hours for the primary caregiver and 
assistant caregiver. 
(4) Within two years prior to request for license, the primary caregiver has completed 
and documented all health and safety training specified in OAC 340:110-3-85(h)(3). 

(i) Outdoor play space.  The requirements regarding outdoor play space, per OAC 
340:110-3-86(a)(12) are met.  The outdoor play space is enclosed by a building or a 
fence beginning at ground level, at least four feet high, and in good repair.  Fencing 
exceptions are not granted by Licensing. 
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OKLAHOMA CHILD CARE FACILITIES LICENSING ACT 
 

 
Sections 401 through 420 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes 

(Amended with 2019 legislation) 

Section 401- Purpose and Policy- Minimum Standards   

A. Sections 401 through 418 of this title shall be known and may be cited as the 
"Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act". 
B. It is the declared purpose and policy of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing 
Act, to: 

1. Ensure maintenance of minimum standards for the care and protection of 
children away from their own homes; 
2. Encourage and assist the child care facility toward maximum standards; and 
3. Work for the development of sufficient and adequate services for child care 
through joint work of public, private and voluntary agencies. Whenever possible, 
child care facilities should help to preserve and restore family life for children. 

C. In order to provide care for children in child care facilities, a license shall be obtained 
from the Department of Human Services, which is issued on the basis of meeting 
minimum standards which are essential for the health and welfare of the child or 
children placed for care with such agencies and individuals. 
D. The Child Care Facilities Licensing Division within the Department of Human 
Services shall work with representatives from municipalities to develop a single child 
care licensure procedure for use by state and local entities. 
 

Section 402- Definitions  

As used in the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act: 
1. "Adult" means an individual eighteen (18) years of age or older; 
2. "Child" or "minor" means any person who has not attained the age of eighteen 
(18) years; 
3. "Child care center" means a program that operates thirty (30) or more hours 
per week; 
4. "Child care facility" means any public or private child care residential facility, 
child-placing agency, foster family home, child care center, part-day program, 
out-of-school time program, day camp, drop-in program, program for sick 
children, family child care home, or large family child care home providing either 
full-time or part-time care for children away from their own homes; 
5. "Child-placing agency" means an agency that arranges for or places a child in 
a foster family home, adoptive home, or independent living program; 
6. "Foster family home" means the private residence of a family which provides 
foster care services to a child, and includes a specialized foster home, a 
therapeutic foster family home, or a kinship care home; 
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7. "Foster parent eligibility assessment" includes a criminal background 
investigation, including, but not limited to, a national criminal history records 
search based upon the submission of fingerprints, a home assessment, and any 
other assessment required by the Department of Human Services, the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs, or any child-placing agency pursuant to the provisions of Section 
1-7-106 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes. A foster parent eligibility 
assessment shall be similar to the procedures used by the Department of Public 
Safety for determining suitability of an individual for employment as a highway 
patrol officer; 
8. "Department" means the Department of Human Services;  
9. "Division" means the section within the Department that is assigned 
responsibilities pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities 
Licensing Act; 
10. "Family child care home" means a family home which provides care and 
supervision for seven or fewer children for part of the twenty-four-hour day. The 
term "family child care home" shall not include informal arrangements which 
parents make independently with neighbors, friends, and others, or with 
caretakers in the child's own home; 
11. "Full-time care" means continuous care given to a child beyond a minimum 
period of twenty-four (24) hours; 
12. "Large family child care home" means a residential family home which 
provides care and supervision for eight to twelve children for part of the twenty-
four-hour day; 
13. "Part-day child care program" means a program that provides care and 
supervision for children and that operates for more than fifteen (15) and up to 
thirty (30) hours per week; 
14. "Program" means the business entity that provides care, supervision, and 
learning opportunities for children; 
15. "Rap back" means a notification from the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation to the Department of subsequent criminal activity of individuals 
whose criminal background checks have been completed pursuant to the 
requirements of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act;  
16. "Residential child care facility" means a twenty-four-hour residential facility 
where children live together with or are supervised by adults who are not their 
parents or relatives; 
17. "Responsible entity" means an individual who is authorized to obligate the 
business; and 
18. "Specialized service professional" means an individual from an academic 

discipline or field of expertise who provides individualized services to a child, 

such as behavioral or physical therapists. 

Section 403- Exemptions  

A. The provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act shall not apply to: 
1. Care provided in a child’s own home or by relatives; 
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2. Informal arrangements which parents make with friends or neighbors for the 
occasional care of their children; 
3. Care provided by an attorney-in-fact authorized by Section 700 of this title who 
exercises parental or legal authority on a continuous basis for not less than 
twenty-four (24) hours and without compensation for the intended duration of the 
power of attorney; 
4. Programs in which school-aged children three (3) years of age and older are 
participating in home-schooling; 
5. Programs that serve children three (3) years of age and older and that are 
operated during typical school hours by a public school district; 
6. Programs that serve children three (3) years of age and older and that are 
operated during typical school hours by a private school that offers elementary 
education in grades kindergarten through third grade; 
7. Summer youth camps, summer programs or after-school programs for children 
who are at least four (4) years of age, that are accredited by a national standard-
setting agency or church camp accreditation program, or are accredited by, 
chartered by or affiliated with a national non-profit organization; 
8. Programs in which children attend on a drop-in basis and parents are on the 
premises and readily accessible; 
9. A program of specialized activity or instruction for children that is not designed 
or intended for child care purposes including, but not limited to, scouts, 4-H clubs 
and summer resident youth camps, programs that limit children from enrolling in 
multiple sessions because of the type of activity or ages accepted and single-
activity programs such as academics, athletics, gymnastics, hobbies, art, music, 
dance and craft instruction; 
10. Any child care facility that: 

a. provides care and supervision for fifteen (15) or fewer hours per week, 
b. operates less than ten (10) weeks annually, 
c. operates in the summer for less than eight (8) hours per day, or 
d. provides care and supervision for school-aged children only in a center-
based program for twenty-one (21) or fewer hours a week and is located 
in a county with a population of less than one hundred thousand (100,000) 
according to the latest Federal Decennial Census; 

11. Facilities whose primary purpose is medical treatment; 
12. Boarding schools that have education as their primary purpose and that are 
recognized as accredited by the State Board of Education. To be exempt, such 
programs shall: 

a. have classroom facilities that are not used for residential living, 
b. not have been granted nor have assumed legal custody of any child 
attending the facility, and 
c. adhere to standard educational holiday and seasonal recess periods to 
permit students reasonable opportunities to return to their primary places 
of residence with parents or legal guardians; 

13. Day treatment programs and maternity homes operated by a licensed 
hospital; 
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14. Juvenile facilities certified by the Office of Juvenile Affairs or certified by any 
other state agency authorized by law to license such facilities; 
15. A program where children are not enrolled by the parents and are free to 
come and go; 
16. A program in tribal land as defined at 25 U.S.C.A. 1903 (10); and 
17. A program on a military base or federal property. 

B. The provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act shall be equally 
incumbent upon all private and public child care facilities. 
 

Section 404- Minimum Requirements and Desirable Standards  

 A.  1. The Department of Human Services, in consultation with the Oklahoma 
Commission on Children and Youth, shall appoint advisory committees of 
representatives of child care facilities and others to recommend minimum requirements 
and desirable standards for promulgation by the Department. 

2. Committee members shall be appointed for a three-year term, with a two-
consecutive-term limit. The committee shall include representation for all 
categories of facilities licensed by the Department and shall be comprised as 
follows: 

  a. the Residential Children's Services subcommittee shall include at a  
  minimum: 

(1) a representative of a statewide organization representing 
children in care arrangements outside their own home, 
(2) a representative of a statewide organization providing 
residential services to youth in state custody, 
(3) a recipient or former recipient of youth services for children in 
state custody, 
(4) a representative of a statewide organization promoting adoption 
services, 
(5) a parent or guardian providing foster care to a child or children 
in state custody, 
(6) a representative from a nonpublic, long-term residential care 
facility for children in state custody, 
(7) a representative from an organization promoting the interests of 
Native American children in state custody, 
(8) a provider of medical services for children, 
(9) a practicing behavioral health services provider, 
(10) a representative from an agency providing child-placing 
services, and 
(11) other appropriate representatives at the discretion of the 
Department of Human Services and Commission on Children and 
Youth, 

   b. the Child Care Centers subcommittee shall include at a minimum: 
(1) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for 
children in care arrangements outside their own home, 
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(2) a representative of a statewide organization conducting 
programs for school-age children, 
(3) a parent or guardian with a child attending a licensed child care 
facility, 
(4) a representative of a licensed child care facility in a rural area, 
(5) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for 
licensed child care facilities owned or operated by Native 
Americans, 
(6) a representative of a licensed child care facility in an 
urban/suburban area, 
(7) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for 
programs provided under the Head Start program, 
(8) a representative with knowledge of child care programs offered 
by career technology center in this state, 
(9) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for early 
childhood education programs, 
(10) a representative of a statewide organization providing 
resources and referrals to child care facilities, 
(11) a provider of medical services for children, and 
(12) other appropriate representatives at the discretion of the 
Department of Human Services and Commission on Children and 
Youth, 

  c. the Child Care Homes subcommittee shall include at a minimum: 
(1) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for 
children in care arrangements outside their own home, 
(2) a parent or guardian with a child receiving care at a licensed 
child care home, 
(3) a representative of a licensed child care home in a rural area, 
(4) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for 
licensed child care facilities owned or operated by Native 
Americans, 
(5) a representative of a licensed child care home in an 
urban/suburban area, 
(6) a representative of a statewide organization advocating for early 
childhood education programs, 
(7) a representative of a statewide organization providing resources 
and referrals to child care facilities, 
(8) a provider of medical services for children, and 
(9) other appropriate representatives at the discretion of the 
Department of Human Services and Commission on Children and 
Youth, and 

d. the Quality Rating and Improvement System subcommittee shall 
include representatives of child care centers and child care homes 
currently licensed by the State and other members as determined by the 
Department of Human Services and the Commission on Children and 
Youth. 
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3. The Department shall create a Child Care Facility Peer Review Board whose 
purpose shall be to participate in the Department's grievance process. A majority 
of the Board shall be representatives of child care facilities. The Department shall 
promulgate rules specifying the duties of the Child Care Facility Peer Review 
Board in the grievance process. 
4. The advisory committee shall designate two people to serve on the 
Department's Stars Administrative Review Panel.  At least one designee shall be 
the owner or operator of a licensed child care center. 

B. Child care facilities shall not allow children to be left alone in the care of any person 
under eighteen (18) years of age without supervision or sixteen (16) years of age with 
supervision as delineated by the Department's rules. Child care centers and family child 
care homes shall not: 

1. Use soft or loose bedding, including, but not limited to, blankets, in sleeping 
equipment or in sleeping areas used only for infants; 
2. Allow toys or educational devices in sleeping equipment or in a sleeping area 
used only for infants; or 
3. Place a child in sleeping equipment or in a sleeping area which has not been 
previously approved for use as such by the Department. 

C. The Department shall promulgate rules establishing minimum requirements and 
desirable standards as may be deemed necessary or advisable to carry out the 
provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act. 
D. Such rules shall not be promulgated until after consultation with the State 
Department of Health, the State Department of Education, the Oklahoma State Bureau 
of Investigation, the State Fire Marshal, the Commission on Children and Youth, the 
Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services and any other 
agency deemed necessary by the Department. Not less than sixty (60) days' notice, by 
regular mail, shall be given to all current licensees before any changes are made in 
such rules. 
E. In order to improve the standards of child care, the Department shall advise and 
cooperate with licensees, the governing bodies and staff of licensed child care facilities 
and assist the staff through advice of progressive methods and procedures, and 
suggestions for the improvement of services. 
F. The Department may participate in federal programs for child care services, and 
enter into agreements or plans on behalf of the state for that purpose, in accordance 
with federal laws and regulations. 
 

Section 404.1- Criminal History Records Search and Child Care Restricted 

Registry for Individual Applying to Establish or Operate Child Care Facility  

A. On and after November 1, 2013: 
1. Prior to the issuance of a permit or license, owners and responsible entities 
making a request to establish or operate a child care facility shall have: 

a. an Oklahoma State Courts Network search conducted by the 
Department, 
b. a Restricted Registry search conducted by the facility, 
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c. a national criminal history records search conducted pursuant to 
paragraph 10 of this subsection, 
d. a criminal history records and sex offender registry search conducted 
by an authorized source, when the individual has lived outside this state 
within the last five (5) years, 
e. a search of the Department of Corrections' files maintained pursuant to 
the Sex Offenders Registration Act and conducted by the Department of 
Human Services, 
f. a search of any available child abuse and neglect registry within a state 
the individual has resided in within the last five (5) years, 
g. search of the nontechnical services worker abuse registry maintained 
by the State Department of Health pursuant to Section 1-1950.7 of Title 63 
of the Oklahoma Statutes, and 
h. a search of the community services worker registry maintained by the 
Department of Human Services pursuant to Section 1025.3 of Title 56 of 
the Oklahoma Statutes; 

2. Prior to the employment of an individual: 
a. an Oklahoma State Courts Network search, conducted by the 
Department, shall be requested and received by the facility; provided 
however, if twenty-four (24) hours has passed from the time the request to 
the Department was made, the facility may initiate employment, 
notwithstanding the provisions of this paragraph, 
b. a Restricted Registry search shall be conducted by the facility with 
notification of the search submitted to the Department, 
c. a national criminal history records search pursuant to paragraph 10 of 
this subsection shall be submitted, 
d. a criminal history records and sex offender registry search conducted 
by an authorized source, when the individual has lived outside this state 
within the last five (5) years, shall be submitted to the Department,  
e. a search of the Department of Corrections' files maintained pursuant to 
the Sex Offenders Registration Act shall be conducted by the Department 
and received by the facility, 
f. a search of any available child abuse and neglect registry within a state 
the individual has resided in within the last five (5) years,  
g. search of the nontechnical services worker abuse registry maintained 
by the State Department of Health pursuant to Section 1-1950.7 of Title 63 
of the Oklahoma Statutes, and 
h. a search of the community services worker registry maintained by the 
Department of Human Services pursuant to Section 1025.3 of Title 56 of 
the Oklahoma Statutes; 

3. Prior to allowing unsupervised access to children by employees or individuals, 
including contract employees and volunteers and excluding the exceptions in 
paragraph 8 of this subsection: 

a. Oklahoma State Courts Network search results, conducted by the 
Department, shall be received by the facility, 
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b. a Restricted Registry search shall be conducted by the facility with 
notification of the search submitted to the Department, 
c. national criminal history records search results pursuant to paragraph 
10 of this subsection shall be received by the facility, 
d. a criminal history records and sex offender registry search conducted 
by an authorized source, when the individual has lived outside this state 
within the last five (5) years shall be submitted to the Department, 
e. a search of the Department of Corrections' files maintained pursuant to 
the Sex Offenders Registration Act shall be conducted by the Department 
and received by the facility, 
f. a search of any available child abuse and neglect registry within a state 
the individual has resided in within the last five (5) years,  
g. search of the nontechnical services worker abuse registry maintained 
by the State Department of Health pursuant to Section 1-1950.7 of Title 63 
of the Oklahoma Statutes, and 
h. a search of the community services worker registry maintained by the 
Department of Human Services pursuant to Section 1025.3 of Title 56 of 
the Oklahoma Statutes; 

4. Prior to the issuance of a permit or license and prior to the residence of adults 
who subsequently move into a facility, adults living in the facility excluding the 
exception in paragraph 7 of this subsection shall have: 

a. an Oklahoma State Courts Network search conducted by the 
Department and the facility shall be in receipt of the search results, 
b. a Restricted Registry search conducted by the facility with notification of 
the search submitted to the Department, 
c. a national criminal history records search conducted pursuant to 
paragraph 10 of this subsection, 
d. a criminal history records and sex offender registry search conducted 
by an authorized source, when the individual has lived outside this state 
within the last five (5) years, 
e. a search of the Department of Corrections' files maintained pursuant to 
the Sex Offenders Registration Act conducted by the Department and 
received by the facility, 
f. a search of any available child abuse and neglect registry within a state 
the individual has resided in within the last five (5) years,  
g. search of the nontechnical services worker abuse registry maintained 
by the State Department of Health pursuant to Section 1-1950.7 of Title 63 
of the Oklahoma Statutes, and 
h. a search of the community services worker registry maintained by the 
Department of Human Services pursuant to Section 1025.3 of Title 56 of 
the Oklahoma Statutes; 

5. Children who reside in the facility and turn eighteen (18) years of age 
excluding the exception in paragraph 7 of this subsection shall have: 

a. an Oklahoma State Courts Network search conducted by the 
Department, 
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b. a Restricted Registry search conducted by the facility with notification of 
the search submitted to the Department, 
c. a national criminal history records search conducted pursuant to 
paragraph 10 of this subsection, and 
d. a search of the Department of Corrections' files pursuant to the Sex 
Offenders Registration Act conducted by the Department and received by 
the facility; 

6. Prior to review of or access to fingerprint results, owners, responsible entities, 
directors, and other individuals who have review of or access to fingerprint 
results shall have a national criminal history records search pursuant to 
paragraph 10 of this subsection; 
7. Provisions specified in paragraphs 4 and 5 of this subsection shall not apply to 
residents who are receiving services from a residential child care facility; 
8. A national criminal history records search pursuant to paragraph 10 of this 
subsection shall not be required for volunteers who transport children on an 
irregular basis when a release is signed by the parent or legal guardian noting 
their understanding that the volunteer does not have a completed national 
criminal history records search. The provisions in paragraph 3 of this subsection 
shall not be required for specialized service professionals who are not employed 
by the program and have unsupervised access to a child when a release is 
signed by the parent or legal guardian noting his or her understanding of this 
exception. These exceptions shall not preclude the Department from requesting 
a national fingerprint or an Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation name-based 
criminal history records search or investigating criminal, abusive, or harmful 
behavior of such individuals, if warranted; 
9. A national criminal history records search pursuant to paragraph 10 of this 
subsection shall be required on or before November 1, 2016, for existing owners, 
responsible entities, employees, individuals with unsupervised access to 
children, and adults living in the facility, as of November 1, 2013, unless 
paragraph 6 of this subsection applies; 
10. The Department shall require a national criminal history records search 
based upon submission of fingerprints that shall: 

a. be conducted by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation pursuant to Section 150.9 of Title 74 of 
the Oklahoma Statutes and the federal National Child Protection Act and 
the federal Volunteers for Children Act with the Department as the 
authorized agency, 
b. be submitted and have results received between the Department and 
the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation through secure electronic 
transmissions, 
c. include Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation rap back, requiring the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation to immediately notify the 
Department upon receipt of subsequent criminal history activity, and 
d. be paid by the individual or the facility; 

11. The Director of the Department, or designee, shall promulgate rules that may 
authorize an exception to the fingerprinting requirements for individuals who have 

http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=436689
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a severe physical condition which precludes such individuals from being 
fingerprinted; 
12. The Director of the Department, or designee, shall promulgate rules that 
ensure individuals obtain a criminal history records search, not to include the re-
submission of fingerprints, not less than once during each five (5) year period; 
13. Any individual who refuses to consent to the criminal background check or 
knowingly makes a materially-false statement in connection with such criminal 
background check shall be ineligible for ownership of, employment of or 
residence in a child care facility; and 
14. The Office of Juvenile Affairs shall require national criminal history records 
searches, as defined by Section 150.9 of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes, 
which shall be provided by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation for the 
purpose of obtaining the national criminal history records search, including Rap 
Back notification of and through direct request by the Office of Juvenile Affairs on 
behalf of any: 

a. operator or responsible entity making a request to establish or operate 
a secure detention center, municipal juvenile facility, community 
intervention center or secure facility licensed or certified by the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs, 
b. employee or applicant of a secure detention center, municipal juvenile 
facility, community intervention center or secure facility licensed or 
certified by the Office of Juvenile Affairs, or 
c. persons allowed unsupervised access to children, including contract 
employees or volunteers, of a secure detention center, municipal juvenile 
facility, community intervention center or secure facility licensed or 
certified by the Office of Juvenile Affairs. 

B.  1.  a. On and after September 1, 1998: 
(1) any child-placing agency contracting with a person for foster family 
home services or in any manner for services for the care and supervision 
of children shall also, prior to executing a contract, complete: 

(a) a foster parent eligibility assessment for the foster care provider 
except as otherwise provided by divisions (2) and (4) of this 
subparagraph, and 
(b) a national criminal history records search based upon 
submission of fingerprints for any adult residing in the foster family 
home through the Department of Human Services pursuant to the 
provisions of Section 1-7-106 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma 
Statutes, except as otherwise provided by divisions (2) and (4) of 
this subparagraph, 

(2) the child-placing agency may place a child pending completion of the 
national criminal history records search if the foster care provider and 
every adult residing in the foster family home has resided in this state for 
at least five (5) years immediately preceding such placement, 
(3) a national criminal history records search based upon submission of 
fingerprints to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation shall also be 
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completed for any adult who subsequently moves into the foster family 
home, 
(4) provided, however, the Director of Human Services or the Director of 
the Office of Juvenile Affairs, or a designee, may authorize an exception to 
the fingerprinting requirement for a person residing in the home who has a 
severe physical condition which precludes such person's being 
fingerprinted, and 
(5) any child care facility contracting with any person for foster family 
home services shall request the Office of Juvenile Affairs to conduct a 
juvenile justice information system review, pursuant to the provisions of 
Sections 2-7-905 and 2-7-308 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, for 
any child over the age of thirteen (13) years residing in the foster family 
home, other than a foster child, or who subsequently moves into the foster 
family home. As a condition of contract, the child care facility shall obtain 
the consent of the parent or legal guardian of the child for such review.  

b. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to foster care providers having 
a contract or contracting with a child-placing agency, the Department of Human 
Services or the Office of Juvenile Affairs prior to September 1, 1998. Such 
existing foster care providers shall comply with the provisions of this section, until 
otherwise provided by rules of the Department or by law. 

  2.  a. (1) On and after September 1, 1998, except as otherwise provided in 
 divisions (2) and (4) of this subparagraph, prior to contracting with a foster family 
 home for placement of any child who is in the custody of the Department of Human 
 Services or the Office of Juvenile Affairs, each Department shall complete a foster 
 parent eligibility assessment, pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Child 
 Care Facilities Licensing Act, for such foster family applicant. In addition, except as 
 otherwise provided by divisions (2) and (4) of this subparagraph, the Department 
 shall complete a national criminal history records search based upon submission of 
 fingerprints for any adult residing in such foster family home. 

(2) The Department of Human Services and Office of Juvenile Affairs may 
place a child pending completion of the national criminal history records 
search if the foster care provider and every adult residing in the foster 
family home has resided in this state for at least five (5) years immediately 
preceding such placement. 
(3) A national criminal history records search based upon submission of 
fingerprints conducted by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation 
shall also be completed for any adult who subsequently moves into the 
foster family home. 
(4) The Director of Human Services or the Director of the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs or their designee may authorize an exception to the 
fingerprinting requirement for any person residing in the home who has a 
severe physical condition which precludes such person's being 
fingerprinted.   

b. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to foster care providers 
having a contract or contracting with a child-placing agency, the Department 
of Human Services or the Office of Juvenile Affairs prior to September 1, 
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1998. Such existing foster care providers shall comply with the provisions of 
this section, until otherwise provided by rules of the Department or by law. 

3. The Department of Human Services or the Office of Juvenile Affairs shall 
provide for a juvenile justice information system review pursuant to Section 2-7-
308 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes for any child over the age of thirteen 
(13) years residing in a foster family home, other than the foster child, or who 
subsequently moves into the foster family home. 

C. The Department or the Board of Juvenile Affairs shall promulgate rules to identify 
circumstances when a criminal history records search or foster parent eligibility 
assessment for an applicant or contractor, or any person over the age of thirteen (13) 
years residing in a private residence in which a child care facility is located, shall be 
expanded beyond the records search conducted by the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation or as otherwise provided pursuant to this section. 
D. Except as otherwise provided by the Oklahoma Children's Code and subsection F of 
this section, a conviction for a crime shall not be an absolute bar to employment, but 
shall be considered in relation to specific employment duties and responsibilities. 
E. 1. Information received pursuant to this section by an owner, administrator, or
 responsible entity of a child care facility, shall be maintained in a confidential 
 manner pursuant to applicable state and federal laws. 

2. The information, along with any other information relevant to the ability of the 
individual to perform tasks that require direct contact with children, may be released 
to another child care facility in response to a request from the child care facility that 
is considering employing or contracting with the individual unless deemed 
confidential by state and federal laws. 
3. Requirements for confidentiality and recordkeeping with regard to the information 
shall be the same for the child care facility receiving the information in response to a 
request as those provided for in paragraph 1 of this subsection for the child care 
facility releasing such information. 
4. Information received by any facility certified by the Office of Juvenile Affairs may 
be released to another facility certified by the Office if an individual is being 
considered for employment or contract, along with any other relevant information, 
unless the information is deemed confidential by state or federal law. Any 
information received by the Office shall be maintained in a confidential manner 
pursuant to applicable state and federal law. 

F. 1. It shall be unlawful for individuals who are required to register pursuant to the Sex 
 Offenders Registration Act to work with or provide services to children or to  reside 
 in a child care facility and for any employer who offers or provides services  to 
 children to knowingly and willfully employ or contract with, or allow continued 
 employment of or contracting with individuals who are required to register 
 pursuant to the Sex Offenders Registration Act. Individuals required to register  
 pursuant to the Sex Offenders Registration Act who violate any provision of  
 Section 401 et seq. of this title shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony 
 punishable by incarceration in a correctional facility for a period of not more than 
 five (5) years and a fine of not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) or 
 both such fine and imprisonment. 
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2. Upon a determination by the Department of any violation of the provisions of this 
section, the violator shall be subject to and the Department may pursue: 
  a. an emergency order, 
  b. license revocation or denial, 
  c. injunctive proceedings, 
  d. an administrative penalty not to exceed Ten Thousand Dollars   
  ($10,000.00), and 
  e. referral for criminal proceedings. 
3. In addition to the penalties specified by this section, the violator may be liable for 
civil damages.  

 

Section 404.2- Demarion's Law  

This act shall be known and may be cited as "Demarion’s Law". 

Section 404.3- Mandatory Liability Insurance Requirements for Child Care 

Facility- Reports-Rules- Notices-Exempt Facilities and Agencies- Failure to 

Comply 

A. A child care facility shall maintain general liability insurance coverage as defined by 
Section 707 of Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes of at least Two Hundred Thousand 
Dollars ($200,000.00) for each occurrence of negligence. An insurance policy or 
contract required under this section shall cover injury to a child due to negligence that 
occurs while the child is in the care of the child care facility. 
B. The Department of Human Services shall promulgate rules providing for a standard 
form to be signed and dated by an insurance agent licensed in this state stating that the 
child care facility has an unexpired and uncancelled insurance policy or contract of at 
least Two Hundred Thousand Dollars ($200,000.00) that meets the requirements of this 
section. This form shall be completed annually and shall be maintained by the child care 
facility. Upon request, the form shall be made available to the Department to determine 
compliance with licensing requirements. 
C. Should the child care facility for financial reasons or for lack of availability of an 
underwriter willing to issue a policy be unable to secure the insurance required under 
subsection A of this section, should the policy limits be exhausted, or if the child care 
facility reports self-insurance in accordance with state law the child care facility shall: 

1. Post a conspicuous notice at the facility indicating the facility does not have 
liability insurance coverage pursuant to this section or reports self-insurance in 
accordance with state law; 
2. Notify the Department that coverage is not provided or that the facility reports 
self-insurance in accordance with state law; and 
3. Keep a form signed by the parent or legal guardian of each child that he or she 
has been told that the child care facility does not carry at least Two Hundred 
Thousand Dollars ($200,000.00) of general liability insurance. 

D. The Department shall promulgate rules providing for a standard notice form for the 
facility to post which indicates the facility does not carry liability insurance or reports 
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self-insurance in accordance with state law. The form required pursuant to paragraph 1 
of subsection C of this section shall be: 

1. Printed with lettering that is legible and in at least three-fourths-inch boldfaced 
type; 
2. Placed at the main entrance of the facility in a conspicuous location; and 
3. Copied and provided to the parent or legal guardian of each child under 
supervision of the child care facility. 

E. In no case shall the inability to secure coverage serve to indemnify the child care 
facility due to negligence. 
F. The insurance policy or contract shall be maintained at all times in an amount as 
required by this section, except as provided for in subsection C of this section. 
G. Each child care facility shall maintain a copy of the most recent compliance file 
onsite. The Department shall promulgate rules providing for a standard notice form for 
the facility to post which indicates: 

1. The facility has a copy of the most recent compliance files onsite for inspection 
upon request of a parent or guardian of each child under the supervision of the 
child care facility; and 
2. Such files are also made available for public inspection by the Department. 

H. The forms required pursuant to this subsection shall be: 
1. Printed with lettering that is legible and in at least three-fourths-inch boldfaced 
type; 
2. Placed at the main entrance of the facility in a conspicuous location; and 
3. Copied and provided to the parent or legal guardian of each child under 
supervision of the child care facility. 

I. The requirements for posting provided by subsection D and G of this section shall not 
apply to: 

1. Licensed child-placing agencies; 
2. Licensed residential child care facilities; or 
3. Department-certified child care facilities. 

J. The Department may promulgate rules requiring liability insurance for facilities listed 
in subsection I of this section. 
K. Failure by a child care facility to comply with the provisions of this section is grounds 
for suspension or revocation of the child care facility license under the Oklahoma Child 
Care Facilities Licensing Act. 
L. The Department shall promulgate rules to implement the provisions of this section.   
 

Section 405- License and Permit Requirements for Child Care Facilities- 

Application- Issuance  

A. No child care facility may be operated or maintained in this state, unless licensed or 
temporarily authorized by the Department of Human Services, except for the shelters 
certified by the Office of Juvenile Affairs pursuant to Section 2-7-202 of Title 10A of the 
Oklahoma Statutes; No new child care facility may be established without the prior 
approval of the Department, which shall be granted only after the Department is 
satisfied that the facility will meet minimum standards for a license to operate. 
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B. The Department shall not grant approval for a permit, or a license for a new child 
care facility to receive and care for children until: 

1. All background investigation requirements are met pursuant to Section 404.1 
of this title; and 
2. All required training including, but not limited to, cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR), first aid, health and safety training, and minimum education requirements 
pursuant to licensing requirements have been completed for any person left 
alone with children. 

C. The incorporation or domestication of a corporation organized for the purpose of 
operating a child care facility shall not exempt such corporation from compliance with 
the provisions of Sections 401 through 418 of this title. 
D. An application for a license shall be made on forms provided by the Department and 
in the manner prescribed. Temporary authorization may be granted to allow the 
Department to investigate the activities and standards of care of the applicant. The 
Department may issue a license once it is satisfied that the applicant meets the 
requirements as provided in Sections 401 through 418 of this title. All licenses shall be 
in force unless revoked as authorized by Section 407 of this title. 
 

Section 405.1- Comprehensive Oklahoma State Plan for Child Care  

A. The Department of Human Services shall collaborate with other appropriate agencies 
to develop a comprehensive Oklahoma state plan for child care. 
B. The comprehensive plan shall: 

1. Meet all requirements for child care state plans as periodically determined by 
the United States Department of Health and Human Services Administration for 
Children and Families Child Care Bureau; and 
2. Be submitted to the Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives and 
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate on a biannual basis.  

 

Section 405.2- Public Online Database- Licensed Child Care Centers and Child 

Care Homes  

 A. The Department of Human Services shall promulgate rules to establish and maintain 
an online database accessible to the public that contains information including, but not 
limited to: 

1. The name, address, and phone number of all child care centers licensed by 
the Department of Human Services, and the name, address, and phone number 
of all child care homes licensed by the Department; and 
2. A summary of substantiated complaint records and inspection reports 
generated by the Department. 

B. Child care licensing records and inspection reports shall be maintained by the facility 
and be posted or made available to individuals pursuant to the licensing requirements 
promulgated by the Department. 
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Section 405.3- Child Care Restricted Registry  

A. The Department of Human Services shall promulgate rules to establish and maintain 
the Restricted Registry, accessible to the public through an online database, to address: 

1. A procedure for recording individuals on the restricted registry resulting from: 
a. a substantiated finding of abuse or neglect, as defined in Section 1-1-
105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, by an individual when the 
abuse or neglect occurred to a child while in the care of a facility licensed, 
certified, operated or  contracted by or with the Department or the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs.  The provisions of this subparagraph shall apply to: 
 (1) the Central Oklahoma Juvenile Center, the Oklahoma Juvenile 
 Center for Girls and the Southwest Oklahoma Juvenile Center upon 
 the effective date of this act, and 
 (2) facilities licensed by, certified by or contracting with the Office of 
 Juvenile Affairs after November 1, 2018. 
b. a revocation or denial of a child care facility license, and 
c. a specified criminal history of an individual, as defined by rules 
promulgated by the Department; 

2. A procedure to provide notice and an opportunity for review prior to recording 
an individual on the restricted registry; 
3. Disclosure requirements for information on the restricted registry; and 
4. A procedure to prohibit licensure, ownership, employment, unsupervised 
access to children or residence in a facility or program licensed, certified, 
operated or contracted with by the Department or  the Office of Juvenile Affairs. 

B. The Restricted Registry shall include, but not be limited to: 
1. The full name of the individual; 
2. Information necessary to identify the individual; and 
3. The date the individual was recorded on the restricted registry. 

C. Nothing in this section shall be construed as to permit the placement of an operator 
of a child care facility on the Restricted Registry unless the operator: 

1. Is the subject of a substantiated finding of child abuse or neglect; 
2. Has been subject to a revocation or denial of a child care facility license; or 
3. Has a specified criminal history, as defined by rules promulgated by the 
Department. 

Section 405.4- Educational Requirements for Director of Child Care Center- 
Minimum Size of Rooms Occupied by Infants 

A. Any person with a bachelor's degree or postgraduate degree shall be considered as 
having met the educational requirements for a director of a full-time child care center 
required by the Department of Human Services. Nothing in this section shall be 
construed as to affect annual continuing education requirements. The director of a child 
care center may also qualify as a master teacher for children of all ages. 
B. Any person replacing a master teacher at a child care center shall be granted a one-
year probationary period to fulfill the educational qualifications required by the 
Department for a master teacher. The Department may extend the probationary period 
an additional year as long as the person is actively pursuing that goal. 
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C. Licensed child care facilities opened or expanded before November 1, 2016, shall 
have thirty-five (35) square feet of floor area per infant in rooms occupied only by 
infants. New construction and existing space not previously licensed for child care after 
November 1, 2016, shall have forty (40) square feet of floor area per infant in rooms 
occupied only by infants. 

Section 405.5- Authorization of Certain Persons to Operate Child Care Facilities- 
Notice and Conditions 

A. An individual who inherits or purchases a licensed child care facility and operates the 
facility with the same personnel employed by the previous owner may continue to 
operate the facility under the same license and at the same star rating as the previous 
owner for a period of ninety (90) calendar days.  
B. The Department of Human Services shall be notified of any change of ownership of a 
licensed child care facility by the next Department of Human Services business day and 
prior to the new owner assuming operations of the facility.  
C. If individuals who receive ownership of a licensed child care facility through purchase 
or inheritance have met all requirements for owners of child care facilities by the end of 
the ninety-calendar-day period established in subsection A of this section, they may 
continue to operate the facility at the same star rating.  If all requirements have not been 
met, the facility may not care for children until the facility is authorized to do so by the 
Department.  
D. Nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting the Department from 
exercising its authority to revoke the license of a child care facility as provided in 
Section 407 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes during the ninety-calendar-day period 
established in subsection A of this section.  

Section 406- Investigations and Visitation 

 A.  1. Except as provided in paragraph 2 of this subsection, the Department of 
Human Services shall have authority at any reasonable time to investigate and examine 
the conditions of any child care facility in which a licensee or applicant hereunder 
receives and maintains children, and shall have authority at any time to require the 
facility to provide information pertaining to children in its care. 

2.  When the Department of Human Services is reviewing the star rating of a 
child care program with a capacity of fifty or more, the comprehensive visit to inspect 
and examine the program shall be scheduled with the administration of the program at 
least one (1) week in advance of the visit, if requested by the child care facility. 
B. 1. The State Department of Health may visit any licensee or applicant at the 
request of the Department to advise on matters affecting the health of children and to 
inspect the sanitation of the buildings used for their care. 
 2. The State Fire Marshal may visit any licensee or applicant at the request of the 
Department to advise on matters affecting the safety of children and to inspect the 
condition of the buildings used for their care. 
C.  1. Upon receipt of a complaint against any child care facility alleging a violation of 
the provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act, or any licensing 
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standard promulgated by the Department, the Department shall conduct a full 
investigation. If upon investigation, it is determined that there are reasonable grounds to 
believe that a facility is in violation of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act 
or of any standard or rule promulgated pursuant thereto, the Department shall: 

a. document the complaint, 
b. provide the complaint allegations in writing to the facility involved and, 
upon written request by the child care facility, provide a summary of the 
facts used to evaluate the completed complaint, and 
c. document the facility's plan for correcting any substantiated violations. 

2. If the Department determines there has been a violation and the violation has 
a direct impact on the health, safety or well-being of one or more of the children 
cared for by the facility, the Department shall notify the facility and require 
correction of the violation. 
3. The Department shall notify the facility that failure to correct the confirmed 
violation can result in the revocation of the license, the denial of an application for 
a license, the issuance of an emergency order or the filing of an injunction 
pursuant to the provisions of Section 409 of this title. 
4. If the facility refuses to correct a violation or fails to complete the plan of 
correction, the Department may issue an emergency order, revoke the license, or 
deny the application for a license. Nothing in this section or Section 407 of this 
title shall be construed as preventing the Department from denying an 
application, revoking a license, or issuing an emergency order for a single 
violation of this act, or the rules of the Department as provided in Section 404 of 
this title. 

D. Upon the completion of the investigation of a complaint against any child care facility 
alleging a violation of the provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act 
or any licensing standard promulgated thereto by the Department, the Department shall 
clearly designate its findings on the first page of the report of the investigation. The 
findings shall state whether the complaint was substantiated or unsubstantiated. 
E. Information obtained by the Department or Oklahoma Child Care Services 
concerning a report of a violation of a licensing requirement, or from any licensee 
regarding children or their parents or other relatives shall be deemed confidential and 
privileged communications, shall be properly safeguarded, and shall not be accessible 
to anyone except as herein provided, unless upon order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction. Provided, however, this provision shall not prohibit the Department from 
providing a summary of allegations and findings of an investigation involving a child 
care facility that does not disclose identities but that permits parents to evaluate the 
facility. 
F. The Department shall promulgate rules to establish and maintain a grievance 
process that shall include an anonymous complaint system for reporting and 
investigating complaints or grievances about employees of the Department who 
retaliate against a child care facility or facility employee. 
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Section 406.1- Indian Tribal Child Care Facility Electing Licensure Under 
Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act- Agreement for State Inspection  

A. If an Indian tribe in this state that operates a child care facility elects to apply for a 
license for the facility pursuant to the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act, the 
Department of Human Services, the State Department of Health, and the State Fire 
Marshal may enter into an agreement with the Indian tribe to allow the state to conduct 
any inspections of the facility necessary to comply with the licensing provisions of the 
Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act. 
B. As part of the agreement authorizing the state to conduct inspections as provided in 
this section, the state and the Indian tribe may agree to a payment of a fee by the Indian 
tribe to the state in an amount not to exceed the reasonable cost to the state to conduct 
the inspections. 

Section 407- Revocation or Denial of Issuance of License  

A. The Department of Human Services may revoke or deny issuance of the license of 
any child care facility found to be in violation of any provision of this act or the rules of 
the Department, as provided in Section 404 of this title. 
B.  1. No license shall be revoked or issuance denied unless and until such time as 
 the licensee or applicant shall have been given at least thirty (30) days' notice in 
 writing of the grounds of the proposed revocation or denial. 
 2. At the time the facility is given notice in writing of the revocation or denial of a 
 license, the Department shall also advise parents of children attending the facility 
 and the child care resource and referral organization within one (1) business day 
 of such action by verbal, electronic, or written notification and the posting of an 
 announcement in the facility. 

3. If the revocation or denial is protested within thirty (30) days of receipt of 
notice, by writing addressed to the Department, the Department, or its authorized 
agency, shall conduct a hearing at which an opportunity shall be given to the 
licensee or applicant to present testimony and confront witnesses. 
4. Notice of the hearing shall be given to the licensee or applicant by personal 
service or by delivery to the proper address by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, at least two (2) weeks prior to the date thereof. 
5. If notice of the proposed revocation or denial of a license is not protested, the 
license shall be revoked or denied. 

C.  1. Nothing in this section or Section 406 of this title shall be construed as 
 preventing the Department from taking emergency action as provided by this 
 subsection. 

2. For the purposes of this subsection, "emergency" means a situation that poses 
a direct and serious threat to the health, safety, or welfare of any child cared for 
by the facility. 
3. Whenever the Department finds, after an investigation, that an emergency 
exists requiring immediate action to protect the health, safety, or welfare of any 
child cared for by a facility licensed, authorized, or providing unlicensed care 
except as exempted by the provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities 
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Licensing Act, the Department may without notice or hearing issue an emergency 
order stating the existence of such an emergency and requiring that such action 
be taken as it deems necessary to meet the emergency including, when 
necessary, removing children from the facility and prohibiting the facility from 
providing services to children pending a hearing on the matter. 

a. An emergency order shall be effective immediately. Any person to 
whom an emergency order is directed shall comply with the emergency 
order immediately but, upon written request to the Department on or 
before the tenth day after receipt of the emergency order, shall be 
afforded a hearing on or before the tenth day after receipt of the request 
by the Department. 
b. On the basis of such hearing, the Department shall continue the order 
in effect, revoke it, or modify it. 
c. Any person aggrieved by the order continued after the hearing provided 
for in this subsection may appeal to the district court of the area affected 
within ten (10) days. The appeal when docketed shall have priority over all 
cases pending on the docket, except criminal cases. 

D. The Department shall establish a process to review the initial determination of the 
closure of a facility due to an emergency pursuant to the licensing requirements 
promulgated by the Department. 
E. The Department shall continue to monitor any facility whose license has been 
revoked, denied, or who has had an emergency order issued for a period of thirty (30) 
days after the action becomes final. 
F. In addition to any other remedy authorized by this act, a CLEET-certified officer may 
issue a citation for a violation of any provision of this act or rules of the Department as 
provided in Section 404 of this title. The fine shall not be less than One Hundred Dollars 
($100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) for every day the facility 
maintains and receives children after: 

1. An emergency order has been issued; or 

2. An application for a license has been denied or the license has been revoked. 

G. One-half (1/2) of the funds collected pursuant to subsection F of this section shall be 
deposited in the Quality of Care Development Fund established in Section 10 of this act 
and one-half (1/2) shall be retained by the law enforcement agency represented by the 
CLEET-certified officer. 

Section 408- Appeals 

A. Any licensee or applicant aggrieved by the decision of the Department of Human 
Services under Section 407 of this title may, within ten (10) days after the revocation or 
denial of the license, appeal to the district court of the county in which the child care 
facility is maintained and operated by filing with the clerk of the court a verified petition. 
Notice of such appeal shall be served on the Director of the Department within five (5) 
days of the date of its filing. 
B. The licensee or applicant shall, within twenty (20) days of the filing of the appeal, file 
with the clerk of such court a transcript of the proceedings held pursuant to Section 407 
of this title. The district court shall thereupon be vested with jurisdiction to review the 
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proceedings of the Department; provided that, if the Department prevails, the judgment 
of the district court shall be that the decision of the Department be affirmed, and if the 
licensee or applicant prevails, the judgment of the court shall be that the revocation be 
set aside or the license issued or renewed, as the case may be. Pending the hearing of 
the appeal, the action of the Department revoking or denying the license or the granting 
thereof shall be stayed; provided, after the filing of an appeal, the district court, upon 
application by the Department and after an appropriate hearing, may grant a restraining 
order to enforce the decision of the Department. 

Section 409- Injunction  

Any person or child care facility may be enjoined from maintaining and operating such 
facility for violations of any provisions of this act by suit brought in the name of the state 
by the Attorney General of Oklahoma or by a district attorney. 

Section 410- Violations- Punishment 

Any person or agent, representative, or officer of any child care facility who violates any 
of the provisions of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act shall, upon 
conviction, be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and punished in accordance with the 
provisions of Section 10 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes. Whenever any agent, 
representative, or officer of any child care facility shall be convicted under authority of 
this act, such conviction shall be sufficient ground for the revocation of the entity’s 
license. 

Section 410.1- Quality of Care Development Fund 

There is established in the State Treasury a revolving fund to be known as the "Quality 
of Care Development Fund". The fund shall be a continuing fund, not subject to fiscal 
year limitations, and shall consist of all fines collected by the Department of Human 
Services pursuant to Section 407 of this title and shall, in addition to any other monies 
made available for such purpose, be available to the Director solely to support the 
continued improvement of the child care facilities in this state. Expenditures from the 
fund shall be made upon warrants issued by the State Treasurer against claims filed as 
prescribed by law with the Director of the Office of Management and Enterprise 
Services for approval and payment. 

Section 411- Certificate of Immunizations as Condition for Admission to Day Care 
Facility- Waiver  

A. No person, firm, corporation, partnership or other legal entity operating a day care 
center or day care home in this state shall cause or permit a minor child two (2) months 
of age or older to be admitted to such facility unless and until the parent, guardian, or 
other related person of such child presents certification from a licensed physician or 
authorized representative of any state or local department of public health that such 
child has received or will receive immunization at the medically appropriate time against 

http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=68942
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diphtheria, pertussis, tetanus, haemophilus influenzae type B (HIB), measles (rubeola), 
rubella, hepatitis A, varicella, and poliomyelitis; or presents such certification that the 
child is likely to be immune as a result of the disease. Provided, however, that in the 
event the parent, guardian, or other person presenting a child for admission to a day 
care center or day care home certifies in writing that a family emergency exists, the 
requirement imposed by this section may be waived for a period not to exceed thirty 
(30) days. Such certification shall be made prior to the provision of care. No such waiver 
shall be knowingly permitted more than once for any child.  

B. The State Board of Health, by rule, may alter the list of immunizations required under 
this section after notice and hearing. Any change in the list of immunizations required 
shall be submitted to the next regular session of the Legislature and such change shall 
remain in force and effect unless and until a concurrent resolution of disapproval is 
passed. Hearings shall be conducted by the State Board of Health, or such officer, 
agents or employees as the State Board of Health may designate for that purpose. The 
State Board of Health shall give appropriate notice of the proposed change in the list of 
immunizations required and of the time and place for hearing. The change shall become 
effective on a date fixed by the State Board of Health. Any change in the list of 
immunizations required may be amended or repealed in the same manner as provided 
for its adoption. Proceedings pursuant to this subsection shall be governed by the 
Administrative Procedures Act. 

Section 412- Manner and Frequency of Immunizations- Enforcement of Act 

A. The immunizations required by this act, and the manner and frequency of their 
administration, as prescribed by the State Board of Health, shall conform to recognized 
standard medical practices in this state. The State Department of Health shall supervise 
and secure the enforcement of the required immunization program.  

B. The Department of Human Services shall render reasonable assistance to the State 
Department of Health in the enforcement of the provisions of this act. This assistance 
shall be in the form of revocation or denial of the license of any facility not in compliance 
with this act. 

Section 413- Exemptions    

Any minor child, through his or her parent or guardian, may submit to the health 
authority charged with the enforcement of the immunization laws, a certificate of a 
licensed physician stating that the physical condition of the child is such that 
immunization would endanger the life or health of the child; or upon receipt of a written 
statement by the parent or guardian objecting to such immunizations because of 
religious or other reasons, then such child shall be exempt from the provisions of this 
act.  
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Section 414- Administration of Immunizations- Persons Eligible- Indigent Persons  

The immunizations shall be administered by, or under the direction of, a licensed 
physician, or by any local or state health department. If the parent or guardian is unable 
to pay, the State Department of Health shall provide, without charge, the immunization 
materials required by this act.   

Section 415- Child with Reportable Contagious Disease to be Excluded from Day 
Care Facility  

Any child afflicted with a reportable contagious disease shall be excluded from attending 
a day care center or day care home until such time as the period of communicability has 
elapsed as determined by a licensed physician or health department official. Such 
exclusion shall be reported to a local health department official. 

Section 418- Authority to Obtain Evidence- Administration of Oaths  

When conducting investigations of complaints as provided in this article, the Department 
of Public Welfare shall have the power to summon any person to appear and produce 
such books and papers as shall be designated in the summons, and to give testimony 
under oath concerning the matter and institution under investigation. The Department 
shall have the power to administer oaths to such persons as may be summoned and to 
enforce all such powers as are given to notaries public when they are taking 
depositions. 

Section 420- Child Care Center Bill of Rights- Documentation of Training 
Compliance  

The Child Care Center Bill of Rights includes if a child care center or employee provides 
written documentation of completion of required training, the child care center shall not 
be found in noncompliance if computer documentation is not updated by the training 
provider. 
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WHAT IS CHILD ABUSE? 

 
What is the Law?  Oklahoma statutes define child abuse as harm or threatened harm 
to a child's health or welfare by a person responsible for the child.  This includes non-
accidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse or neglect (10A O.S. § 1-2-101).  

 Physical abuse is non-accidental physical injury to a child. 

 Mental injury is an injury to a child's psychological growth and development.  It is 

caused by a chronic pattern of behaviors, such as belittling, humiliating and ridiculing 

a child. 

 Sexual abuse, in general terms, includes any sexual activity between an adult and a 

child for the purpose of sexually stimulating the adult, the child or others.  Sexual 

abuse may also be committed by a person under the age of 18 when that person is 

either significantly older than the victim or is in a position of power or control over the 

child. 

 Neglect is the failure of the parent or caretaker to provide a child with basic needs 

such as food, clothing, shelter, medical care, protection and supervision. 

 Threatened harm means a substantial risk of harm to the child.  It may include acts 

or expressions of intent to inflict actual harm presently or in the future. 

Who must report?  Every person, private citizen or professional, who has reason to 
believe that a child has been abused, is mandated by law to promptly report suspected 
abuse. Failure to do so is a misdemeanor.  A person making a report in good faith is 
immune from civil or criminal liability.  The name of the reporter is kept confidential. 

When to report?  A report should be made when there is reasonable cause to believe 
that a child has been abused or neglected or is in danger of being abused.  A report of 
suspected abuse is a request for an investigation.  Investigation of child abuse reports is 
the responsibility of Child Welfare workers and, when a crime may have been 
committed, law enforcement officials. 

If other incidents of abuse occur after the initial report has been made, another report 
should be made.  

How is abuse reported?  A report may be made to the 24-hour statewide Child Abuse 
and Neglect Hotline, 1-800-522-3511. 
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MINIMUM IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS   
 
Law 
Section 411 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes mandates children attending child care 
obtain, at the medically appropriate time, the Required Immunization Schedule vaccines. 
 
Law Exemptions 
Exemptions from the law are allowed for medical, religious, and personal reasons. 
Summaries are below, including procedures for obtaining exemptions and exclusions. 

 
Medical.  For exemptions based on medical reasons, Oklahoma State Department of 
Health (OSDH) Form ODH 216A, Certificate of Exemption, must be signed by a licensed 
physician and state the child's physical condition is such that a particular immunization 
would endanger the life or health of the child.  The parent is responsible for obtaining the 
signature of the physician. 
 
Religious.  For exemptions based on religious reasons, an ODH 216A must be signed by 
a parent or religious leader or a written statement signed by a parent or religious leader 
may be attached to the Certificate of Exemption. 
 
Personal.  For exemptions based on personal beliefs, an ODH 216A must be signed by a 
parent and include a brief written statement summarizing his or her objections to 
immunizations. 

 
Exemption Procedures.  Programs willing to enroll an unimmunized child based on an 
exemption, obtain Form ODH 216A from the OSDH Immunization Service, 1-800-234-
6196.  Parents complete the form, obtain the required signatures, and return it to the 
program.  Programs review the form for proper completion and signatures, keep a copy in 
place of an immunization record, and send a copy to the OSDH Immunization Service for 
approval. 

 
Exclusion of exempt children during outbreaks.  If there is an outbreak of a vaccine-
preventable disease, programs may be required to exclude unimmunized children based 
on exemptions or family emergencies.  The exclusion may be a lengthy period of time.  
The Commissioner of Health makes this decision and the program would be contacted by 
a representative of the health department.  The program is responsible for informing the 
parent of this possibility at the time the Certificate of Exemption is accepted by the 
program. 

 
Family Emergencies.  This provision applies in rare instances when a true family 
emergency exists, such as a death in the family.  A program may allow a child to enter and 
remain for up to 30 calendar days, without an immunization record.  However, a dated and 
signed parent statement is required.  The record must be provided at the earliest possible 
opportunity.  If at the end of 30 days an up-to-date record has not been provided, the 
program must exclude the child.  No child may receive this waiver more than once. 
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Required Immunization Schedule 
 
 
Due Immunizations are due according to this Required Immunization Schedule, 

unless there are late dose revisions (see next page). 

         Dose due that month.          Dose due at the end of the age range, but 
                                                        may be given anytime during the age range. 

  E = Late Dose Exceptions (see next page)  

 

Past Due  Immunizations are past due the month following the age due. 

     

 
Birth 

2 
Mos.  

4 
Mos. 

6 
Mos. 

12 
Mos. 

15 
Mos. 

18 
Mos. 

23 
Mos. 

*** 
4 – 6 
Years 

Hep B 
  

 
        

DTaP 
          

Hib* 
          

IPV 
          

MMR 
          

Varicella** 
          

PCV 
          

Hep A***  
          

*  Hib may be complete with three or four doses depending on the vaccine brand used 
** Varicella vaccine is not required, if a parent or treating medical physician statement 

states the child had Chickenpox 
*** Hep A dose 2 is due six to 18 months after dose one 
 
 
Refer to the Oklahoma State Department of Health website for the immunization schedule 
required for children seven years of age and older. 
 
 

E E 

E E E 

E 

E 

 

E 

E 
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Late Doses = Revised Due Dates 
When a dose is received late, the remaining doses may have a different due date than 
shown on the Required Immunization Schedule. 
All remaining doses are due one to two months after the previous dose, unless: 

 the schedule allows more time; or  

 if one of these exceptions (E) apply. 
DTaP dose 4 is due six to 12 months after dose three 
Hep A dose 2 is due six to 18 months after dose one 

 
Late Doses = Revised Number of Doses    

When a dose is received late, usually the same number of doses is required.  However, 
fewer doses may be required once a child reaches a certain age if one of these 
exceptions (E) applies. 

Hib 

o If one dose is given at 15 months of age or older, regardless of the number of 
previous doses received, no more doses are required. 

o If a child is 5 years of age or older, no doses are required. 

PCV  

o If two doses are given at 12 months of age or older, regardless of the number 
of previous doses received, no more doses are required. 

o If one dose is given at 24 months of age or older, regardless of previous 
doses received, no more doses are required. 

o If a child is 5 years of age or older, no doses are required. 
 
Vaccine Names and Combination Vaccines 

Use this chart to determine what vaccines have been received.  Combination vaccines 
have two or more vaccines in one shot. 

Vaccine Disease Vaccine Brand Names and Abbreviations 

Hep B Hepatitis B 
Comvax, HBV, Hep B Pediatric, Engerix-B, 
Pediarix, Recombivax 

DTaP 
Diphtheria, Tetanus, & Pertussis 
(Whooping Cough) 

Daptacel, DT, DTP, Infanrix, Kinrix, Pediarix, 
Pentacel, TriHIBit 

Hib Haemophilus Influenzae Type B 
ActHIB (PRP-T), Comvax, HbCV, HbOC,  Hib 
conjugate, Hiberix, Pedvax HIB (PRP-OMP), 
Pentacel, TriHIBit 

IPV Polio Kinrix, OPV, Pediarix, Pentacel 

MMR Measles, Mumps, & Rubella M-M-R II, MMRV, ProQuad 

Varicella Chickenpox MMRV, ProQuad, VAR, Varivax 

PCV Pneumococcal 
PCV 7 or 13, Pneumococcal Conjugate, 
Prevnar 

Hep A Hepatitis A HAV, Havrix, Vaqta 
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DISASTER PREPAREDNESS 

 
 

Child care providers must be prepared to respond to a wide variety of emergency 
situations.  It may be evacuating children and taking them to a safe place or protecting 
them from outside threats by keeping them safe inside the facility.  You can make sure 
your families know what you would do in the event of an emergency.  A Disaster Plan is 
critical and should be in place at all times. 
 
Disaster Plan - some things to consider: 
 

 Identify the type of hazards that could affect your facility (tornado, terrorism, gas 
leaks, flooding, fire, etc.) 

 Develop a step-by-step plan to respond to each situation. 

 Ensure that all staff have been trained in how to respond to each situation. 

 If evacuation is necessary, know where you will go off the premises (examples 
include designated shelter sites such as elementary schools, local community 
centers, churches, etc.) 

 Know how you will account for each child in a disaster.  Including procedures for 
2 year olds and younger, children with limited mobility, and children who 
otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, including a child who is 
mentally, visually, or hearing impaired. 

 If it is safest to remain in the facility, determine how you will communicate the 
emergency situation with parents and necessary authorities. 

 

Disaster Kit suggestions - keep in a plastic tub or container 

 

 Emergency contact information 

 Children's record cards 

 First aid kit 

 Water and paper cups 

 Food (examples:  infant formula, animal crackers, saltines, etc.) 

 Special items for babies or children with special needs (examples:  diapers, baby 
wipes, medication) 

 Toilet paper, tissues, waterless hand sanitizer 

 Flashlight 

 Radio - battery operated or NOAA weather radio 

 Extra batteries 

 Toys, books, games 

 Plastic garbage bags 
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CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM  
 

Oklahoma Statute 
47 O.S. Section 11-1112 

(Amended 06-06-17) 

A. Every driver, when transporting a child under eight (8) years of age in a motor vehicle 

operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall provide for the 

protection of said child by properly using a child passenger restraint system as follows: 

1. A child under four (4) years of age shall be properly secured in a child passenger 

restraint system. Except as provided in subsection G of this section, the child passenger 

restraint system shall be rear-facing until the child reaches two (2) years of age or until 

the child reaches the weight or height limit of the rear-facing child passenger restraint 

system as allowed by the manufacturer of the child passenger restraint system, 

whichever occurs first; and 

2. A child at least four (4) years of age but younger than eight (8) years of age, if not 

taller than 4 feet 9 inches in height, shall be properly secured in either a child passenger 

restraint system or child booster seat. 

For purposes of this section and Section 11-1113 of this title, "child passenger restraint 

system" means an infant or child passenger restraint system which meets the federal 

standards as set by 49 C.F.R., Section 571.213. 

B. If a child is eight (8) years of age or is taller than 4 feet 9 inches in height, a seat belt 

properly secured to the vehicle shall be sufficient to meet the requirements of this 

section. 

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to: 

1. The driver of a school bus, taxicab, moped, motorcycle, or other motor vehicle not 

required to be equipped with safety belts pursuant to state or federal laws; 

2. The driver of an ambulance or emergency vehicle; 

3. The driver of a vehicle in which all of the seat belts are in use; 

4. The transportation of children who for medical reasons are unable to be placed in 

such devices, provided there is written documentation from a physician of such medical 

reason; or 

5. The transportation of a child who weighs more than forty (40) pounds and who is 

being transported in the back seat of a vehicle while wearing only a lap safety belt when 

the back seat of the vehicle is not equipped with combination lap and shoulder safety 

belts, or when the combination lap and shoulder safety belts in the back seat are being 

used by other children who weigh more than forty (40) pounds. Provided, however, for 

purposes of this paragraph, back seat shall include all seats located behind the front 

seat of a vehicle operated by a licensed child care facility or church. Provided further, 

https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=82361
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there shall be a rebuttable presumption that a child has met the weight requirements of 

this paragraph if at the request of any law enforcement officer, the licensed child care 

facility or church provides the officer with a written statement verified by the parent or 

legal guardian that the child weighs more than forty (40) pounds. 

D. A violation of the provisions of this section shall be admissible as evidence in any 

civil action or proceeding for damages unless the plaintiff in such action or proceeding is 

a child under sixteen (16) years of age. 

In any action brought by or on behalf of an infant for personal injuries or wrongful death 

sustained in a motor vehicle collision, the failure of any person to have the infant 

properly restrained in accordance with the provisions of this section shall not be used in 

aggravation or mitigation of damages. 

E. A person who is certified as a Child Passenger Safety Technician and who in good 

faith provides inspection, adjustment, or educational services regarding child passenger 

restraint systems shall not be liable for civil damages resulting from any act or omission 

in providing such services, other than acts or omissions constituting gross negligence or 

willful or wanton misconduct. 

F. Any person convicted of violating subsection A of this section shall be punished by a 

fine of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) and shall pay all court costs thereof. Revenue from such 

fine shall be apportioned to the Department of Public Safety Restricted Revolving Fund 

and used by the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office to promote the use of child 

passenger restraint systems as provided in Section 11-1113 of this title. This fine shall 

be suspended and the court costs limited to a maximum of Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) in 

the case of the first offense upon proof of purchase or acquisition by loan of a child 

passenger restraint system. Provided, the Department of Public Safety shall not assess 

points to the driving record of any person convicted of a violation of this section. 

G. A driver of a vehicle who has been rightfully issued a detachable placard indicating 

physical disability under the provisions of Section 15-112 of this title or a physically 

disabled license plate under the provisions of Section 1135.1 or 1135.2 of this title and 

valid letter of forward-facing exemption issued from the Department of Public Safety 

shall be permitted to transport a child passenger under four (4) years of age in a 

forward-facing child passenger restraint system. The placard and forward-facing 

exemption letter must be present in the vehicle to be in compliance. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=82361
https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=440331
https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=440343
https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?citeid=440344
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PASSENGER SAFETY IN OKLAHOMA   
Most Frequently Asked Questions 

 
 

 What is the purpose and intent of the child passenger restraint law? 
 
 
Car crashes are the number one cause of injury and death to children in 
Oklahoma.   A 45-lb. child in a 30-mph crash will be thrown with a force of 1,350 
lbs.  Fortunately, child safety seats provide a 45-70 percent reduction in 
significant injuries, depending on the type of seat that is used (booster seat, 
convertible seat, infant seat, etc.). 
 

 

 What are the statistics on death or serious injuries in Oklahoma? 
 
 
More than 20 children under 6 years of age die each year in motor vehicle 
crashes, and more than 1,100 children are injured, many permanently.  More 
than 70 percent of children who die are not in a child safety seat.   
 
 

 What does the law require?  
 
 
Children under the age of 8 must be transported using a car seat or booster seat.  
 

 All children under age 4 must be properly secured in a car seat with an internal 
harness.  
 
 A 5-point harness is the safest restraint system and should be used as long 

as possible (until the child exceeds the harness’ weight limit). 
 

Children under age 2 must be properly secured in a rear-facing car seat. 
 

 Rear-facing is the safest way for small children to travel, and they should 
remain rear-facing until they reach 2 years of age or until they exceed the 
height or weight limit of the car seat. 

 Riding rear-facing with legs bent or against the back of the seat is a safe and 
comfortable position for children. This position best protects their head, neck 
and spinal cord in the event of a crash. 
 

Children ages 4-7 must ride in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat 
unless they are taller than 4’9”. 
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 Are there exemptions to the law that affect child care facilities? 
  
 

Exemptions include: 

 school buses, over 10,000 lbs., or any vehicle not required by law to be 
equipped with seat belts; and  

 medical issues prohibiting use of belt or restraint system. 
 

 

 What about older vehicles that do not have shoulder belts in the back seat?  
What about the center back seat position, which usually does not include a 
shoulder belt? 

 
 

Belt positioning booster seats require the use of a lap/shoulder belt.  There are 
only a few seats that do not.  For this reason, an exemption was included in the 
law.  The law “shall not apply to . . . the transportation of a child who weighs 
more than 40 lbs. and who is being transported in the back seat of a vehicle 
while wearing only a lap safety belt when the back seat of the vehicle is not 
equipped with combination lap and shoulder safety belts, or when the 
combination lap and shoulder safety belts in the back seat are being used by 
other children who weigh more than 40 lbs.” 
 
While lengthy, the exemption was worded this way in part to prevent a motorist 
from placing a 4- or 5-year-old child in the center lap belt with no booster seat, 
with empty lap/shoulder belts on either side.  This wording closes that loophole 
for motorists who would deliberately attempt to skirt the law. 
 
 

 Are there different types of booster seats? 
 
 

Booster seats for children over 40 lbs. (about 4 years old) generally fall into two 
categories:  backless boosters and high-back boosters.  Both are considered 
"belt-positioning" boosters, because they help to properly position the lap belt on 
the child's lap and hip bones, rather than the abdomen.  
 
High-back boosters are recommended for positions in vehicles that do not have 
head rests (usually older vans and pickup trucks).  Both seats achieve the same 
thing:  they boost the child high enough so that the seat belt fits properly. 

 
Both require the use of a lap/shoulder belt. 
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 What are some important facts to remember considering the transportation 
of children? 
 
 
Be sure that any booster seat, car seat or infant seat is used according to the 
manufacturer's instructions. 
 
Ensure that the type of passenger restraint system is used properly with the type 
of seat belt system that is installed in your vehicle. 
 
Remember to verify the particular car seat is appropriate for the specific height 
and weight of the child that is being transported. 
 
 

 What resources are available to help low-income families obtain booster 
seats? 
 
 

Some county health departments distribute free seats, mostly to WIC-eligible clients.   
SAFE KIDS offers subsidized seats to families who receive public assistance.  The 
cost to the client is $10 per car seat.  Car seats are distributed during community car 
seat events to eligible families on a first-come, first-served basis.  Contact Safe Kids 
for a list of events in your area. 
 

 

 Where can I receive more information regarding transportation safety of 
children? 
 

 
For more information, call Oklahoma SAFE KIDS Coalition at 405-470-2304 or visit 
their website at http://www.safekidsok.org/. 

 
  

 
     

http://www.safekidsok.org/
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INJURY REPORT FORM - SAMPLE 

 

Name of injured:  

Sex:   Age:   

Date when injury occurred:  

Time where injury occurred:  

Location where injury occurred:  

 

Description of how injury occurred:  

 

 

 

 

 

Description of injury and its location:  

 

 

Action taken on behalf of the injured:  

 

 

 

Was parent/legal guardian specifically advised of injury?  

 

Was parent/legal guardian specifically advised to obtain medical attention? 

 

Other witness to injury:  

 

Name of individual(s) involved in supervision at time of injury: 

  

Name of person completing this report form:  

Date of completion of form:  ________________ 
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PLAY EQUIPMENT - RECOMMENDED 
 
Since sturdy, safe play materials are the "tools" that help children grow, develop, and 
learn, each caregiver must have adequate toys and play equipment to meet the needs 
of all the children in care. 
 

Any toy given to a baby should be sturdy enough that it will not splinter or break, large 
enough so it cannot be swallowed and have no sharp points or rough edges.  Toys 
given to infants and toddlers should not have any parts that can come loose to be 
swallowed (such as whistles, small rubber toys, buttons or eyes on stuffed animals), 
and be painted with non-toxic paint. 
 

Play equipment must be provided for each age group in care, from the categories below. 
 

INFANTS AND TODDLERS  
 

Art Supplies 

 non-toxic art materials e.g., play-
dough, finger paint and paint with 
large brushes on large paper, thick 
crayons, washable markers 

 

Books 

 sturdy books to handle and simple 
story books and poems for  
provider to read aloud 

Large Muscle Equipment 

 infant activity center, crawl-through 
apparatus, push-pull toys, infant/ 
toddler rocking horse, small riding 
toys, small gym and slide, large 
hollow blocks, balls - different sizes 
and textures, climbing steps, wagon 

 

Musical Equipment 

 tape or CD player and tapes or CDs 
of assorted music, toddler drum, 
xylophone, tambourine, plastic 
maracas, hand bells, little player 
piano, and musical mobiles 

 
 

Blocks and Accessories 

 soft and textured blocks, large 
connecting blocks, large hollow 
blocks 

Dramatic Play Materials 

 shatterproof, unbreakable mirror, 
clothing, e.g., hats, capes, jackets, 
vests, purses, shoes and boots, 
scarves and mittens.  Play kitchen 
with dishes, play tool set, small 
table and chairs, play telephone, 
soft dolls, animal figures, puppets 

 
Manipulative Toys 

 baby rattles, soft squeeze toys, 
infant activity gym, jumbo pop 
beads, nesting cups, stacking toys 
and rings, pounding toys, play-
dough, connecting blocks and links, 
simple pegboards and puzzles 

Science Materials 

 textured surfaces to touch, water 
play equipment, e.g., dishpans, 
sponges, floating toys, spoons or 
scoops and containers, science 
related books and posters 
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PRE-SCHOOL CHILDREN 

 
Art Supplies 

 various sizes and colors of paper, 
crayons, markers, colored pencils, 
scissors, glue sticks, non-toxic 
finger paints and paints with 
brushes and sponges, chalk, play-
dough, clay 

 

Books 

 storybooks, easy to read books for 
beginning readers, chapter books, 
books of poetry, science and fact 
books, comic books, child-oriented 
magazines and a children's 
dictionary 

Large Muscle Equipment 

 gym set, balance beam, jump 
ropes, stilts, ring toss, hula hoops, 
frisbees, hopscotch, and sports 
equipment, e.g., soccer, softball, 
basketball, tetherball, badminton 

Musical Equipment 

 tape or CD player and a variety of 
tapes or CDs, e.g., classical, jazz, 
rock-n-roll, children's songs, 
country, gospel, multicultural.  A 
variety of musical instruments, e.g., 
drums, rhythm sticks, cymbals, 
tambourines, castanets, hand bells, 
maracas, xylophone, rhythm rain 
stick and small player piano 

 
Blocks and Accessories 

 connecting blocks, large hollow 
blocks, soft unit blocks, hardwood 
unit blocks and accessories, e.g., 
animals, people, cars and trucks 
and traffic signs 

 

Dramatic Play Materials 

 tent, tool set, doctor kit, playhouse 
with furniture and accessories, 
child-size kitchen with dishes, pots 
and pans and play foods, child-size 
table and chairs, cash register and 
play groceries, telephones, dress-
up clothes, costumes, mirrors, 
dolls, doll clothes, cradles, strollers, 
puppets, masks, and play centers 
with toy figures and accessories, 
e.g., farm, ranch, fire station, school 

 
Manipulative Toys 

 pegboards and pegs, interlocking 
links and shapes, pop beads, 
puzzles, beads  and buttons to 
string with thick string or yarn, 
nesting and stacking toys, dressing 
skills dolls, play-dough, writing 
materials, e.g., paper, pencils, 
crayons, markers and stencils, 
magnetic or flannel board with 
accessories, simple card games 
and board games 

Science Materials 

 aquarium, terrarium, growing 
plants, sandbox, water play 
equipment, e.g., dishpans, 
sponges, floating toys, eye 
droppers, spoons and containers, 
magnets and magnetic items, large 
unbreakable magnifying glass, 
collections of rocks, shells, seeds 
or other nature items 
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SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

 
Art Supplies 

 various sizes and colors of paper, 
material and scraps, yarn, scissors, 
glue, crayons, markers, colored 
pencils, paints, paintbrushes and 
sponges, chalk, clay and play-
dough 

 

Books 

 storybooks, easy to read books for 
beginning readers, chapter books, 
books of poetry, science and fact 
books, comic books, child-oriented 
magazines and a children's 
dictionary 

Large Muscle Equipment 

 gym set, balance beam, jump 
ropes, stilts, ring toss, hula hoops, 
frisbees, hopscotch, and sports 
equipment, e.g., soccer, softball, 
basketball, tetherball, badminton 

Musical Equipment 

 tape or CD player and a variety of 
tapes or CDs, e.g., classical, jazz, 
rock-n-roll, children's songs, 
country, gospel, multicultural.  A 
variety of musical instruments, e.g., 
drums, rhythm sticks, cymbals, 
tambourines, castanets, hand bells, 
maracas, xylophone and keyboard 

 
Blocks and Accessories 

 small interlocking blocks, log builder 
sets, wood blocks and accessories, 
e.g., animals, people and vehicles 

Dramatic Play Materials 

 tent or playhouse, dress-up clothes 
and accessories, costumes, masks, 
dolls and accessories, doctor kit, 
typewriter or computer, prop boxes, 
e.g., office, barber/beauty shop, 
carpentry fix-it shop, post office, 
pizza parlor, garden center and 
grocery store 

 
Manipulative Toys 

 beads and buttons to string, 
puzzles, small interlocking toys and 
blocks, card games, board games, 
dominoes, video game systems, 
materials for sewing and weaving, 
play-dough and clay, writing 
materials, e.g., paper, pencils, 
crayons, markers and stencils 

Science Materials 

 globe of the world, magnets, 
magnifying glass, growing plants, 
gardening and watering materials, 
aquarium, terrarium, ant farm, 
scales, children's microscope, 
indoor/outdoor thermometer, books 
and posters on science topics and 
activities 
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CHILD GUIDANCE PRINCIPLES 
 
As a caregiver, you have a unique opportunity to positively influence the children in your 
care. It is important that they learn to handle situations of life in ways that are socially 
acceptable and personally satisfying. The primary goal of guidance is to help children 
behave well, not to stop misbehavior. 
 
Below are some general principles of child behavior and guidance: 
 
1. Children need rules. Give children the security of clear, consistent rules.  Present 

rules as directions, not orders or commands. 
 
2. Use a positive approach. Telling a child what not to do does not prepare him for 

what to do. Translating the Don'ts into Do's shows a child a more acceptable way to 
act. 

 
Do's 
Just look. 
Hold the kitten gently. 

Don'ts 
Don't touch. 
Don't squeeze the kitten. 

 
3. Build feelings of confidence.  A feeling of confidence enables a child to try new 

things, to develop life skills and talents. Encouragement and praise build 
self-confidence. Belittling and criticism damage self-confidence. 

 
Situation 

 
Child spills a food tray. 

 
Do's 
"That's hard to do. Next time try 
carrying it this way." 

Don'ts 
"Can't you do anything right?" 

 
 

 
4. Change the environment to change behavior. Look for the cause of the behavior. 

It may be because of the environment, and a small change will remedy the situation. 
(If a child spills her milk at every meal, give her a cup with a lid. If children kick each 
other at lunch, put them at opposite ends of the table.) 

 
5. Give choices. Allow children to have choices when you can accept their decisions. 

Arrange the choices so that either one is acceptable. This gives the child some 
freedom and an opportunity for decision-making. (Do you want orange juice or apple 
juice?) 
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6. Work with a child instead of against him. Recognize each child's needs in relation 
to his developmental level. Keep in mind that each child grows and develops in his 
own time and way. Provide opportunities for learning that are appropriate for that 
particular child. 

 
7. Teach by example. Children learn by example. As you model positive behaviors, 

you show children the behaviors you expect of them. (If you want children to speak 
softly, you speak softly.  If you want children to sit quietly, model sitting quietly.) 

 
8. Don't always rush to the rescue. Children need to learn to solve problems. Allow 

children to work out their own problems whenever possible. 
 
9. Avoid trouble. Remember to guide desirable behavior and avoid trouble before it 

arises. As you get to know the children, you will be able to predict how they will 
behave. 

 
10. Recognize and encourage acceptable behavior. If appropriate behaviors are 

given attention, they are likely to continue. The same is true when inappropriate 
behaviors are given attention. 

 
11. Guide children with concern and understanding. Show an attitude of affection. 

Use language that children understand to explain why some behavior is 
inappropriate and what behavior is appropriate. Redirect the child when behavior is 
inappropriate. 

 
12. Prepare children for activities. Give clear directions. Provide a range of activities 

and allow some choice. Help children to feel successful at a task. Allow children to 
wind down from one activity before beginning another. 

 
13. Use fair and consistent rules. The atmosphere should be relaxed and pleasant. 

Rules should be easily understood. 
 
14. Use positive discipline. Positive discipline is training that teaches self-control. Your 

task is to guide children in ways that allow them to control themselves. 
 

Adapted from curriculum developed through Child Care Careers Inc.
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AGES AND STAGES OF CHILD DEVELOPMENT 
 
Planned daily activities are important because they provide an opportunity for children 
to learn and have fun. They also provide structure so children will know what to expect. 
 
A schedule of daily activities should be appropriate to each child's developmental level. 
Infants and toddlers need to be talked to, held and rocked. School-age children enjoy 
opportunities for team sports, collecting and table games. All children need to be helped 
to grow one step at a time at a pace that is comfortable for each of them. 
 
Although each child grows and develops at his or her own rate, there are predictable 
patterns of child development. Caregivers should be familiar with the developmental 
patterns of children's growth. Below are some of the ages and stages of development 
for the typical child. 

 
Infants 

 Gain muscle strength and body control; 

 Use their senses and movements to explore their surroundings; 

 Develop eye and hand coordination; 

 Learn to respond to and remember people, objects and activities; and 

 Learn to be individuals and begin relationships with other people. 

 

Toddlers  

 Walk, run, climb; 

 Want to do things "all by themselves;"  

 Take the initiative in social situations; 

 Change quickly from tears to smiles; 

 Explore large and small spaces; 

 Begin to talk, to use words, to learn the names of things; and 

 Usually play alone (solitary play). 

 

Two-Year-Olds 

 Gain better muscle control of their bodies; 

 Learn to say "no," (the beginning of choice making); 

 Will probably be ready for toilet learning; 

 Enjoy make-believe; 
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 Play near or side-by-side (parallel play); and 

 Are interested in other children. 

 

Three- and Four-Year-Olds 

 Are learning many new physical skills; 

 Are beginning to understand concepts of numbers, space and time; 

 Have an active imagination and are interested in fantasy and make-believe; 

 Enjoy playing with other children (associative play); 

 Develop feelings about their abilities to do things ("When I do things they often turn out 

well" or "I always seem to do things wrong"); 

 Are increasing their vocabulary and using more advanced language; 

 Are trying to make sense of things they learn; 

 Are aware of whether they are "boys" or "girls;" are interested in what is expected of 

their gender and may begin to develop some modesty; 

 Begin to learn the rules of playing together (cooperative play); 

 May have fears and anxieties; and 

 Begin to develop some inner controls which help them avoid dangerous situations and 

choose right from wrong. 

 

Five-Year-Olds 

 Are interested in the real world; 

 Can manage a project that continues over several days; 

 Like to please; can often settle arguments by themselves; 

 Are sociable; like to play together; take part in group activities and cooperate 

(cooperative play); 

 Have a beginning conscience, want to know the "right" way to do things; 

 Can do small chores and tasks; are pleased with responsibility; 

 Can use many words, ask lots of questions; enjoys jokes and humor; and 

 Still may have troubling fears and dreams. 
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 Six-Year-Olds 

 Are eager to learn, exuberant, restless and easily fatigued; 

 Learn best through active participation; 

 Enjoy spontaneous dramatization;  

 Like to pretend; 

 Like school; 

 Are becoming competitive, but have trouble losing; 

 Like group activities; and 

 Are proud of themselves and their skills. 

 

Seven-Year-Olds 

 Are sensitive to the reactions of others;  

 Need adults' approval; 

 Are concerned about right and wrong; 

 Are involved in more solitary play; 

 Like jigsaw puzzles and magic tricks; 

 Begin collecting things, e.g., cards, rocks; 

 Like active play; 

 Play more with children of their own gender; 

 May take things from others (still don't fully understand the concept of ownership); 

 Are beginning to ride bicycles; 

 Play pretend and like to use props, e.g., post office, kitchen. grocery store items, 

costumes; and 

 Are learning hopscotch, jump rope and bounce balls. 

 

Eight-Year-Olds 

 Are outgoing and interested in people; 

 Have a new awareness of individual differences; 

 Enjoy team games, comics, television and adventure stories; 

 Are sensitive to criticism; 

 Begin to form a group of friends; their best friends are of the same sex; 
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 Are beginning to read well enough to enjoy many books; 

 Like table games, e.g., checkers, cards, jigsaw puzzles; 

 In dramatic play, like to arrange and produce shows; and 

 Enjoy collecting and arranging their collections. 

 

Nine- and Ten-Year-Olds 

 Are capable of prolonged interest; 

 Often argue over fairness in games; have bursts of emotion; 

 Play more complicated table games; 

 May be involved with Lego sets and/or chemistry sets; 

 Have a strong sense of right and wrong; 

 Want to do well, but become discouraged by pressure; 

 May read and/or watch television more; 

 Enjoy pets; and 

 Enjoy active play, e.g., running and hiding games, skating, swimming. 

 

Eleven- and Twelve-Year-Olds 

 Have a wide range of individual differences in their maturity level; 

 Are unsure of bodily changes; may be moody; 

 Need to feel a sense of belonging, acceptance by their peers; are subject to peer 

pressure; 

 Are interested in earning money; 

 Like to socialize; 

 Frequently are overly critical, changeable, rebellious, uncooperative; 

 Are interested in team games, pets, television, radio, movies; 

 Have frequent arguments with those in authority; and 

 Enjoy competitive games and games that involve problem-solving and thinking skills. 
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UPDATED BLEACH/WATER CONCENTRATION INFORMATION 
(as referenced in The Good Health Handbook) 

For 8.25% strength bleach concentration 
Sanitize  
(100 PPM) 
 

Disinfect  
(600 PPM) 

Special Clean-up  
(5000 PPM) 

CLEAN & SANITIZE AFTER 
EACH USE: 
 Children’s mouthed toys 

 Food service areas, dishes 
 

CLEAN & DISINFECT AFTER 
EACH USE: 

 Diaper changing surface 

CLEAN & USE AS NEEDED 
FOR VOMIT AND 
DIARRHEA: 

 Not for other bodily fluids 

SANITIZE DAILY OR MORE 
OFTEN WHEN SOILED: 
 Dishcloths, synthetic 

sponges 

 Common surfaces (other 
than in bathrooms), floors, 
mats, tables, countertops 
and hard surfaces, 
doorknobs, etc. 

DISINFECT DAILY OR MORE 
OFTEN WHEN SOILED: 

 Bathroom areas 

MIX SOLUTION WHEN 
NEEDED, THEN DISCARD 

 WEAR GLOVES AND MASK 
TO PROTECT YOURSELF 

1/8 teaspoon bleach/pint of 
water  

¾ teaspoon bleach/pint of 
water 

2 tablespoons bleach/pint of 
water 

1/4 teaspoon bleach/quart of 
water 

1½ teaspoons bleach/quart of 
water 

4 tablespoons bleach/quart of 
water 

1 teaspoon bleach/gallon of 
water 

2 tablespoons bleach/gallon of 
water 

1 cup (8 oz.) bleach/gallon of 
water 

And for 5.25% strength bleach concentration (if you can find it): 
Sanitize  
(100 PPM) 
 

Disinfect  
(600 PPM) 

Special Clean-up  
(5000 PPM) 

CLEAN & SANITIZE AFTER 
EACH USE: 
 Children’s mouthed toys 

 Food service areas, dishes 
 

CLEAN & DISINFECT AFTER 
EACH USE: 

 Diaper changing surface 

CLEAN & USE AS NEEDED 
FOR VOMIT AND 
DIARRHEA: 

 Not for other bodily fluids 

SANITIZE DAILY OR MORE 
OFTEN WHEN SOILED: 
 Dishcloths, synthetic 

sponges 

 Common surfaces (other 
than in bathrooms), floors, 
mats, tables, countertops 
and hard surfaces, 
doorknobs, etc. 

DISINFECT DAILY OR MORE 
OFTEN WHEN SOILED: 

 Bathroom areas 

MIX SOLUTION WHEN 
NEEDED, THEN DISCARD 

 WEAR GLOVES AND MASK 
TO PROTECT YOURSELF 

1/8 teaspoon bleach/pint of 
water  

1¼ teaspoons bleach/pint of 
water 

3 tablespoons bleach/pint of 
water 

1/4 teaspoon bleach/quart of 
water 

1 tablespoon bleach/quart of 
water 

6 tablespoons bleach/quart of 
water 

1 teaspoon bleach/gallon of 
water 

¼ cup bleach/gallon of water 1 ½ cup bleach/gallon of 
water 
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Meal and Snack Patterns  

 
Adapted from August 8, 2013 Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) Minimum 
Meal Requirements1 

Food Components 
1 - 2   

year-olds 
3 - 5    

year-olds 
6 - 12        

year-olds 

Breakfast 

1 Milk2, fluid ½ cup ¾ cup 1 cup 

1 Fruit and/or vegetable, whole or 
juice3 

¼ cup ½ cup ½ cup 

1 Grain, bread, or cereal Choose One  

Bread, whole-grain, enriched 
or fortified  

½ slice ½ slice 1 slice 

Cornbread, biscuit, roll, or 
muffin 

½ serving ½ serving 1 serving 

Cereal, cold, dry ¼ cup ⅓  cup ¾ cup 

Cereal, hot, cooked ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup 

Pasta, noodles, or grains   ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup 

Lunch or Supper 

1 Milk2, fluid ½ cup ¾ cup 1 cup 

2 Fruits and/or vegetables, whole 
or juice3 

¼ cup ½ cup ¾ cup 

1 Grain, bread, and/or cereal Choose One  

Bread, whole-grain, enriched 
or fortified  

½ slice ½ slice 1 slice 

Cornbread, biscuit, roll, or  
muffin 

½ serving ½ serving 1 serving 

Cereal, cold, dry ¼ cup ⅓  cup ¾ cup 

Cereal, hot, cooked ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup 

Pasta, noodles, or grains   ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup 

1 Protein, meat, and/or meat             

      alternate 
Choose One 

Lean meat, poultry, fish, or 
meat alternate  

1 ounce 1 ½ ounces 2 ounces 

Cheese 1 ounce 1 ½ ounces 2 ounces 

Egg, large ½ egg ¾ egg 1 egg 

Beans or peas, cooked dry  ¼ cup ⅜ cup ½ cup 
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Food Components 
1 - 2   

year-olds 
3 - 5    

year-olds 
6 - 12        

year-olds 

Peanut butter or other 
nut/seed butters 

2 
 tablespoons 

3  
tablespoons 

4 
tablespoons 

Yogurt 4 ounces 6 ounces 8 ounces 

 Combine with ½ serving of other protein 

      Nuts and/or seeds 
½ ounce ¾ ounce 1 ounce 

Snack   (Choose 2 of the 4 Food Components) 

1 Milk2, fluid ½ cup ½ cup 1 cup 

1 Fruit and/or vegetable, whole or 
juice3 

½ cup ½ cup ¾ cup 

1 Grain, bread, and/or cereal Choose One  

Bread, whole-grain, enriched 
or fortified  

½ slice ½ slice 1 slice 

Cornbread, biscuit, roll, or 
muffin 

½ serving ½ serving 1 serving 

Cereal, cold, dry ¼ cup ⅓  cup ¾ cup 

Cereal, hot, cooked ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup 

Pasta, noodles, or grains   ¼ cup ¼ cup ½ cup 

1 Protein, meat, and/or meat   

      alternate 
Choose One 

Lean meat, poultry, fish, or 
meat alternate  

½ ounce ½ ounce 1 ounce 

Cheese ½ ounce ½ ounce 1 ounce 

Egg, large ½ egg ½ egg ½ egg 

Beans or peas, cooked dry  ⅛ cup ⅛ cup ¼ cup 

Peanut butter or other 
nut/seed butters 

1  
tablespoon 

1  
tablespoon 

2 
tablespoons 

Yogurt 2 ounces 2 ounces 4 ounces 

 Combine with ½ serving of other protein 

Nuts and/or seeds ½ ounce ½ ounce 1 ounce 

 
Footnotes 

1  The most current meal pattern can be found at http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-
and-snacks. 

2   Milk for 2-year-olds and older is fat-free or low-fat (1%) unflavored or fat-free flavored. 
3   Juice is full strength (100% and undilute).

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks
http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks
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SAFE FOOD HANDLING RECOMMENDATIONS 

 
1. Hands should be washed with soap and running after any contamination, such as: after 

using the bathroom, after changing diapers, after coughing or sneezing, after handling 
raw meat and after handling pets. 

2. Cooking temperatures - beef roasts and steaks - 145F; poultry - 165F; ground beef 

and pork - 160F.  If a thermometer is not available, do not eat ground beef that is still 
pink inside.  A clean thermometer should be used to make sure foods are cooked all 
the way through. 

3. Eggs should be cooked until the yolk and white are firm.  Don't use recipes in which 
eggs remain raw or only partially cooked. 

4. Fish should be opaque and flake easily with a fork. 

5. Microwave ovens - make sure there are no cold spots in food where bacteria can 
survive.  For best results, cover food, stir and rotate for even cooking, and let stand for 2 
minutes after cooking. 

6. Refrigerator temperature - set no higher than 41F. Check these temperatures 
occasionally by securing an appliance thermometer in the refrigerator where it is visible. 

7. Raw meat products, poultry, or fish should be stored below other food in the 
refrigerator so that it can not drip into any food below. 

8. Refrigerate or freeze perishables, prepared foods and leftovers within two hours or 
sooner.  Don't pack the refrigerator; cool air must circulate to keep food safe. 

9. Thaw food in the refrigerator, under cold running water or in the microwave.  Marinate 
foods in the refrigerator. 

10. Leftovers should be divided into small, shallow containers for quick cooling in the 
refrigerator. 

11. Reheat sauces, soups and gravy to a boil and other leftovers to at least 165F. 

12. Food should come from approved sources; no home-canned food. 

13. Cutting boards (plastic or non-porous), dishes, utensils and counter tops should 
be sanitized after preparing each food item.  If possible, use a different cutting board for 
raw meat products. 

14. Paper towels should be used for cleaning surfaces and drying hands. 

15. Raw meat, poultry, and seafood should be separated from other foods in the grocery 
cart and refrigerator. 

16. Cooked food should never be placed on a plate or surface which previously held raw 
meat, poultry or seafood. 
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REVISIONS TO REQUIREMENTS FOR  
FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES AND LARGE CHILD CARE HOMES 

 
 

Requirements reflect the Child Care Block Grant reauthorization criteria for the 
Licensing Requirements for Family Child Care Homes and Large Child Care Homes.   

 

       November 1, 2020 Governor approves proposed requirement revisions. 
 

November 1, 2020 Effective date of revisions. 
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