
 

CONTEMPORARY ISSUES IN LICENSING: 
Enforcement and Approaches with Illegally-Operating 

Providers  

Introduction 
State licensing systems provide a baseline of protection for the health and safety of children in out-of-home care.  
While all States allow for exemptions to licensure, there are a significant number of providers that are not exempt 
and operate illegally. These are providers who care for children in a manner that would require them to get a license, 
but they fail to do so. Many States do not collect data on the number of illegal providers that are investigated or 
the outcome of those investigations, and there are no national statistics. More troubling is the lack of data on the 
number of children who are seriously injured or who die in illegally-operating programs. According to  Family Child 
Care (FCC) business expert, Tom Copeland, illegal child care is unfair competition to those who follow the rules and 
undermines the reputation and quality of care for the entire child care field (Copeland, 2013). To address this 
issue, States are using a combination of education, enforcement, and incentives to better protect children in child 
care.   

This report, one in a series of reports on contemporary issues in licensing, focuses on defining and identifying child 
care providers operating illegally and the enforcement of the state statute. It provides examples of enforcement 
practices including the use of law enforcement and monetary penalties. Some of the practices cited may be helpful 
to state licensing agencies considering the challenges involved in this important aspect of their responsibilities. 
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In Texas, six children, ranging in age from 12 months to 11 years, were left in a hot vehicle approximately 40 
minutes while the unregulated caregiver shopped.  A passerby alerted police, the caregiver was arrested, and 
the children were transported to the hospital.  A supermarket video confirmed the timeframe the children 
were alone.  Had this provider been regulated, they would have been evaluated for safe transportation 
practices and notified of Texas Child Care Licensing’s public awareness campaign regarding the dangers of 
children dying or becoming seriously ill if they are left in hot vehicles.  

– Reported by Texas licensing staff 
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Suppression of illegal operations refers to actions of 
the licensing agency to bring the illegally-operating 
(unlicensed) facility into full compliance with the law.  
Suppression of illegal operations should be done 
voluntarily when possible and forcibly when 
necessary.    —NARA,  2000 

Background 
All States are mandated by state law to license individuals and programs that provide care for children in a setting 
away from their own homes. All States also allow 
exemptions to this requirement—individuals and 
programs allowed to operate legally without having a 
license.  All other types of programs are expected to 
comply with the State’s child care regulations. 
However, some individuals or organizations choose to 
operate without becoming regulated by the State, 
electing to operate illegally.  

In order to protect children’s health and safety, licensing agencies are mandated to ensure that all providers meet 
statutory requirements to become licensed, certified, or registered—whatever  the State requires for the program 
type. Some States require that the State licensing agency take action only when a complaint about illegally-
operating care is received; in other States the licensing agency may be expected to aggressively identify and take 
enforcement actions to help providers become licensed, or to ensure the illegal operations are suppressed.  

NARA (2000) contends that “the first rule of practice is that the agency must adhere strictly to the provisions of its 
statutory base of developing its policies and procedures for suppression of illegal operations” (Chapter 10, p. 2). 
Since the objective is compliance with the licensing statute, the statute or related policy will often give the agency 
the latitude to facilitate licensing of an illegal operation, when feasible, with timeframes for compliance. 
 

Methodology 
To support OCC’s goal of children served in safe, healthy child care settings, the National Center on Child Care 
Quality Improvement (NCCCQI) contracted with a group of nationally-recognized consultants with expertise in 
administering and researching licensing systems to prepare a series of written briefs about critical licensing issues.   

The information provided in these briefs was obtained by surveying and interviewing representatives of nine state 
licensing agencies in CT, FL, GA, NC, OH, OK, TX, UT, and, WA. The States selected are not a representative sample 
but were selected based on the consultants’ knowledge that they are implementing effective and innovative 
practices that may be helpful to other States’ licensing agencies. Additionally, an effort was made to achieve some 
degree of geographic representation through the States selected. 

Licensing personnel from the nine States first completed a written survey instrument and then spoke with the 
consultants in a telephone interview. All individuals interviewed were licensing agency directors or top-level 
administrators.  

Information from Research Brief #1: Trends in Child Care Center Licensing Regulations and Policies for 2011 
(NCCCQI, 2013a) and The 50-State Child Care Licensing Study: 2011-2013 Edition (National Association for 
Regulatory Administration [NARA], 2013) are also included to provide national data and context to the information 
gathered from the nine States. Both of these reports include data gleaned from a national survey  of licensing 
agencies conducted by NARA. Responses to the NARA survey were received from licensing agencies in all 50 States 
and the District of Columbia.1

1 In the NCCCQI and NARA reports, as well as in this report, the District of Columbia is included in state counts and not listed 
separately. 
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Defining Exemptions and Illegal Care 
While illegal child care is usually defined as child care offered in violation of state law, laws vary significantly in 
their specific definition of illegal care and which programs are exempt from licensure. Exemptions for center-based 
programs may include care sponsored by religious organizations, public schools, or recreation programs, or 
address the number of hours of the day or week the program operates. 

In addition to state exemptions for care provided by relatives (e.g., grandparents, siblings, aunts/uncles), care in 
the child’s home, and care provided by friends or neighbors, exemptions for FCC homes are also related to the 
number of children who can be served without a license or the threshold at which licensing is required. Most 
States set the licensing threshold for FCC homes at three or four children (NCCCQI, 2013b). The following chart 
shows the number of States and the licensing threshold for FCC homes. 

Threshold of Licensed FCC 

Source: NCCCQI (2013c), National Trends in Regulating FCC. PowerPoint presentation. 

Statutory Authority Related to Illegal Care 
For a licensing agency to take enforcement action against illegal operations, state law must provide this authority. 
The responsibility of the licensing agency should be clearly stated in the law as well as the penalties for violations. 
The statute should have a provision that makes it a crime (often a misdemeanor, but in some States, a felony) to 
operate a child care facility without a license. All of the States interviewed for this brief have statutory authority 
for the policies and processes they follow in responding to illegally-operating providers. See Appendix A for 
examples of statutory language about illegally operating providers from States. 

It is important for States to develop written procedures for responding to illegally-operating providers in order to 
operationalize what is found in state statute. Procedures will vary dependent on the potential risk to children— 
potential high-risk or emergency situations require immediate injunctive action as compared with nonemergency 
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States may place more emphasis on ensuring that 
centers are regulated than on illegally-operating 
home-based providers. This emphasis may be 
misplaced when considering research that shows 
young children are more likely to be injured or die in 
FCC homes than in centers.   —Wrigley & Dreby, 2005 

situations. Eight of the nine States interviewed have specific written procedures for responding to illegally-
operating providers. For example, Texas has specific procedures for searching child care advertisements for 
unlicensed providers and following up on all reports. Efforts to support providers in becoming licensed should also 
be described in policy or statute.  

Identifying Illegally-Operating Providers 
State licensing agencies are responsible for identifying illegally-operating providers and either helping them to 
become licensed or initiating legal action to enforce the State’s laws. However, a licensing agency’s ability to 
respond may be hampered by limited resources or a lack of 
support from agency leadership, the legislature, or law 
enforcement agencies.  

The majority of parents assume that child care programs 
are licensed and inspected and that providers are required 
to have background checks and training (National 
Association of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies, 
2011). Some parents may either knowingly or unknowingly protect their provider from being identified as 
operating illegally. Additionally, parents with limited child care options may not support actions against home-
based child care providers. For these reasons, licensing agencies usually act only when the providers are brought to 
their attention, typically as complaints received from private citizens, another agency, or licensed providers.  

There are a number of reasons why providers may operate illegally. Providers and the parents who use their 
services may: 

 Not be aware that they must be regulated. The differences between illegal, exempt, and regulated care can be 
confusing and vary by State and sometimes by city or county; 

 Lack resources needed to meet the requirements (for example, making modifications to the home to meet fire 
codes); 

 Not wish to be limited by licensing rules that prescribe the number of children allowed in care;  

 Find barriers due to language and literacy barriers. 
While some States provide licensing regulations and 
guidance in languages other than English, lack of 
language proficiency may still pose a barrier to 
becoming licensed if a provider’s first language is not 
English; 

 Fear getting involved with a state agency because of 
concerns about immigration status; and 

 Not believe care provided in a private home should be subject to government regulation. 

Strategies to Identify Illegal Providers  
Many States do not have the resources to routinely attempt to identify illegally-operating providers unless they 
receive a complaint or observe actions that may suggest a provider is operating illegally. The task is also made 
more difficult because many state laws allow providers to care for some number of children, or for limited hours, 
without being licensed. Investigators generally need to observe children in the home to know how many children 
are present, if they are the provider’s own children, and the hours of care.  

 The best “win-win” outcome occurs when the 
agency is able to combine its authority to suppress 
with its technical assistance skills in order to bring 
the operation quickly into licensed status where 
that becomes the operator’s goal.  —NARA, 2000 
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 North Carolina noted that it takes staff resources to follow up on care listed on craigslist and similar sites. As a 

result, the agency must have specific information in order to investigate. For example, they need to know 
whether there are more than two children in care and whether the provider is caring for children for more 
than four hours a day. The NC Department of Health and Human Services’ Web site details who needs to be 
licensed and the process to become licensed. They also rely on the child care resource and referral’s training 
and Web site to help educate parents, but continue to get feedback from parents who aren’t aware of the 
need for their provider to be licensed; 

 GA, OK, and WA all reported that the provider community watches and reports unlicensed care on a regular 
basis, and that reports also frequently come from neighbors. In Georgia, anyone from the public who has first-
hand knowledge can file a complaint about a child care program to the Department’s intake phone line; 

States may enlist the help of the public and other providers in identifying providers who may need to be 
licensed. The Tennessee Department of Human Services has information about how parents and the public 
can report suspected illegal care on its Web site. Individuals can call a toll-free number or email the Human 
Services’ Webmaster. Information about the process is on the Tennessee Web site at 
http://www.tn.gov/humanserv/adfam/ccrvc.html.  

 Texas, in response to the death of eight children in unregulated care in 2004, and 10 children in 2005, 
launched a major campaign to discourage parents from placing children in unlicensed child care, “Don’t Be in 
the Dark about Child Care.” In 2013, the Texas legislature approved 40 additional licensing positions to 
proactively identify illegal operations and move them toward licensure or closure. Previously, the licensing 
agency had only been able to follow up on reports of illegal care. The new program focuses on identifying 
illegal providers through Internet advertisements, signs, and publications. Staff use an internet application to 
match phone numbers or email address to a physical address and are trained in surveillance to determine the 
number of children who are in care. An injunction is sought if staff deem children are at risk and the provider 
does not cease the operation. Reports of illegal care are already increasing in response to the recent media 
releases.  

 Utah has found that giving the public the opportunity to file complaints online has helped create awareness of 
the need for illegally-operating providers to become licensed or stop providing care.  

 

Number of Reports of Illegally-Operating Care  
Though state licensing agencies investigate alleged cases of illegal care, they may not have a database or other 
system for recording and maintaining the information about these cases; information about illegally-operating care 

Tom Copeland,  an authority on the business side of FCC, proposes a plan for addressing illegal child care. 
His two-step approach encourages both education and enforcement. 

Copeland recommends that FCC associations talk with their local resource and referral agency and child 
care regulatory agency about the issue of illegal child care. Since many parents and illegal child care 
providers do not understand the licensing law, he recommends these organizations initiate a community 
education campaign. This campaign should educate parents and child care providers about the benefits of 
regulated child care. It should also define the differences between illegal, exempt, and regulated care in the 
local area. 

He recommends that all classified ads in local newspapers and online referral services such as craigslist be 
asked to post a definition of legal child care and to not allow illegal caregivers to advertise. The Web site is 
at http://www.tomcopelandblog.com/2011/02/a-plan-to-eliminate-illegal-child-care.html. 
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is not collected at the national level. The States studied for this brief exemplify the challenges involved in knowing 
how much illegal care is occurring in a State or nationally.  

 In Florida, the number of complaints of unlicensed care is not recorded separately from other types of 
complaints. An investigation is usually required to determine if the provider needs to be regulated or is 
offering legally-exempt care;  

 Four states were able to provide some information on the number of reports of unlicensed care they had 
received during 2012, and estimates of how many of the reports were substantiated as illegal care. The 
numbers of investigations ranged from 92 in Ohio (for centers only) to 258 in North Carolina for both FCC 
homes and centers. Several States reported that many of the complaints are unsubstantiated. For example, 
237 complaints of unlicensed care were investigated in Washington in 2012, and 108 of these were found to 
be valid complaints of illegal care; and 

 Most of the States could not provide information about how many of the investigations of unlicensed care 
resulted in legal action or providers becoming licensed. Utah reported that 5 of the 68 providers reported they 
became licensed, and North Carolina reported that 6 of the 258 reports led to legal action.  

Enforcing the Licensing Statute 
Ability to Enter Illegal Operations 
The ability to enter a facility helps licensing staff determine whether the provider should be licensed, as well as 
evaluate if there are any immediate risks to children in care. Having statutory authority to enter the facility is 
helpful, but entry by licensing staff should never be forced. Licensing staff in UT and GA and have statutory 
authority to investigate complaints and enter illegally-operating homes. In Utah, licensing staff are authorized to 
enter a home to investigate potential illegal operations if it appears that there are more than four children in care.  

Licensors must follow written policy and procedures which often include securing the assistance of law 
enforcement to enter facilities suspected of providing care illegally, particularly if there is evidence of risk to 
children. States report that most providers allow licensing staff to enter the home or center, however, involving 
law enforcement can help to protect the safety of the licensing staff or provide evidence for prosecution. One 
State reported that law enforcement is very helpful if there is clear evidence of risk to children.  

 In Connecticut, the agency may do a three-hour surveillance to verify that children are in care. If it is 
confirmed that  children are in care and no one answers the door, law enforcement is called. The police are 
generally responsive since children could be in danger if they are with an incapacitated provider; 

 In Georgia, if an unlicensed program continues to deny access after at least two attempts, an inspection 
warrant is obtained through the local Superior Court, and law enforcement accompanies licensing to carry out 
the warrant; in Florida, law enforcement is contacted after one attempt; 

 Washington licensing staff may not enter illegally-operating programs unless law enforcement is involved; 

 Licensing staff in Texas must obtain written permission from a person legally authorized to grant it, for 
example through a court order, to enter an illegally-operating facility; and  

 Ohio law prohibits staff from entering if the provider refuses entry, and law enforcement is required by 
statute to obtain a search warrant.  

State Responses to Illegal Care 
The States studied for this brief report a variety of available actions for use with illegally-operating providers as 
illustrated in the following table.  
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States’ Actions for Illegally-Operating Providers 

Action States Reporting 

Injunction to close or cease and desist order CT, FL, GA, OH, OK, TX, UT, WA 

Civil penalties or monetary fines CT, GA, NC, OH, OK, TX, UT, WA 

Misdemeanor charge GA, OK, TX, UT, WA 

Felony charge NC 

If a provider refuses to become licensed or is unable or unwilling to meet the requirements after receiving support 
from the state licensing agency, then enforcement actions are warranted and should be taken. Some examples of 
the enforcement process are: 

 When aware of an illegal provider, Washington staff first send a letter with information about the licensing 
law and the process of becoming licensed. If information contained in a complaint indicates that children are 
at risk, staff make an onsite inspection. The provider must cease operation until licensed. To ensure illegal 
providers have ceased operation, staff make follow-up visits, often when children are being dropped off or 
picked up. If the provider fails to apply for licensing or to cease operation, the agency has the option to apply 
civil penalties and seek injunctive relief. The agency can forgive civil penalties if the provider makes application 
for a license, but he or she may not provide care until licensed.  Providing illegal care in Washington is also a 
misdemeanor criminal offense.  If the provider fails to cease operation after the agency directs them to stop 
providing care, a referral may be sent to law enforcement for prosecution.  The agency has seen some 
successes in partnering with law enforcement in this area. The licensing process takes about 4 to 6 weeks 
(statute requires licensure within 90 days of application). 

 Georgia licensing staff make an unannounced visit within 10 days of receiving a report of an unlicensed 
program. If it is determined that the program should be licensed, a health and safety check is conducted to 
evaluate critical factors including securing fire marshal, zoning, and building approvals along with compliance 
with core rules related to risk. If a program “passes” this checklist, they are given strict deadlines for becoming 
licensed with follow up to ensure that the deadlines are met. If they are not met, adverse action begins. If the 
provider does not pass the initial checklist, they are directed to cease operation immediately. If two cease and 
desist notices have been issued and the program continues to operate, an injunction is sought by the Attorney 
General’s office. A person convicted of operating illegally is guilty of a misdemeanor and can be fined. Each 
day of operation without a license is considered a separate offense. The agency suggested it would be helpful 
to have the data system alert them when they have had previous contact with a potentially illegally-operating 
provider.  

 In North Carolina, complaints are assigned to either a licensing or investigations consultant based upon the 
situation and seriousness of the case. Licensing consultants investigate general complaints of illegal operations 
where the provider may need to be informed of the law. Investigations consultants investigate illegal 
operations when child abuse/neglect has occurred or the provider has already been made aware of the law; 
these typically involve law enforcement and require more in-depth investigation. When illegal providers are 
located, they must submit an application to the licensing consultant or reduce enrollment to no more than 
two children (the legal threshold for licensing) with agency notification to the parents. A follow-up visit is 
conducted to ensure the provider complied with the mandate. If the provider is caring for more than two 
children, the information is reported to law enforcement and the county District Attorney who determines 
whether to prosecute the case criminally.   
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 Utah uses a variety of approaches when a complaint is registered, including conducting an unannounced visit, 

collecting documentation of the illegal activity (including records and brochures), observing program 
operations, conducting surveillance when access is denied, and conducting interviews. If providers reduce the 
number of children in care to four or fewer, or reduce the number of hours care is offered  to four or fewer 
per day, licensing is not required. The agency conducts at least one follow-up inspection to ensure compliance 
and may return more often, if needed. Providers can sometimes remain open if they appeal the decision. 
Providers have 30 days to submit an application and then correct any deficiencies identified in the onsite 
inspection before the agency issues a cease and desist order.  

 Ohio conducts an unannounced “warning visit” with a follow-up visit conducted within 30 days. The licensing 
agency does not have the authority to close an operation. If the provider refuses to cease or reduce the level 
of care, he or she is referred to the State Attorney General’s Office for legal action; the Attorney General’s 
Office can send a cease and desist notice.  

 In Connecticut, FCC homes must cease providing care immediately until they get a license or otherwise come 
into compliance. If they do not, the agency seeks an injunction and can impose fines. All household members 
must get a background check, including a full fingerprint check which can take up to three months. Staff make 
follow-up visits if they have a concern that an alleged provider has not ceased operation and is continuing to 
provide care. The provider is advised that failing to comply with the order to cease operations may jeopardize 
his or her ability to become licensed in the future.  

Penalties or Fines for Operating Illegally  
When a provider or program has been found to be operating illegally, a penalty or fine may be imposed if the 
facility has failed to become licensed or to reduce the number of children to below the threshold for licensure. 
States with monetary penalties for operating illegally are described in the following table. 

States’ Monetary Penalties 

State Penalty 

Connecticut The licensing agency may impose a civil penalty of not more than $100 a day for each day of 
illegal operation.  

Georgia 
A person convicted of operating illegally is guilty of a misdemeanor and can be fined not less 
than $50 and not more than $200 for each offense. Each day without a license is considered a 
separate offense.  

North Carolina 
If the case is prosecuted and the provider is found guilty, fines are administered by the Office 
of the Courts.  A 12 month deferred prosecution usually includes a civil penalty and a 
prohibition from caring for children during that time.  

Oklahoma Licensing requests a fine be imposed, and law enforcement decides on the amount. It can be 
as much as $500 per day.  

Ohio The fine is determined by the Attorney General’s Office.  

Texas 

A person is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $50 nor more than $100 for each day of 
violation and for each act of violation if the person advertises an illegally operating facility or   
knowingly fails to meet or maintain any criterion of an authorized exemption and engages in 
activities that require a license or registration. 
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State Penalty 

Utah 

There is an initial $500 civil penalty for operating illegally and an additional $100 penalty for 
each additional finding. If significant problems exist that are likely to lead to harm of a child, 
the Department may impose a civil penalty of $50 to $1000 per day. If significant problems 
exist that could result in actual harm to a child, the department may impose a civil penalty of 
$1,050 to $5,000 per day.  

Washington The fine can be up to $150 per day for FCC and $250 per day for child care centers. 

Summary 
Suppressing illegal child care operations, a critical part of child care licensing administration, remains a challenge 
due to the large number of illegal FCC providers and the limited resources licensing agencies have to devote to this 
responsibility. This brief has described the variability across the country in statutory authority, written policies and 
procedures, and their implementation.  

States should clearly communicate to the public as well as to policymakers, the benefits of licensure and why 
licensing agencies must assign a high priority to the oversight of child care programs. All children in out-of-home 
care deserve equal protection under the law, and state child care regulations are designed to protect children from 
harm. Educating parents about the benefits of choosing regulated care is critical as well as providing an effective 
way to report unlicensed care.  

There is evidence that providers who are licensed are more likely to follow practices that promote children’s 
development (Galinsky, 1994). Working in a FCC home can be isolating. Regulated providers have opportunities for 
training and receive information about recommended changes such as safe sleep practices. States can further 
incentivize regulation by requiring it for receipt of parent referrals and child care subsidies, as well as paying higher 
reimbursement rates to licensed care. 

It is encouraging to see the renewed attention to the enforcement of licensing statutes, both as a fairness and 
equity issue across FCC, and to reduce the number of incidents of serious injury and child deaths in illegal settings. 
The States surveyed in this study demonstrate a serious and intentional approach to suppressing illegal 
operations—assisting providers with achieving compliance with the law and, when that fails, taking strong 
enforcement and legal actions to force them to cease operation. There are promising initiatives in some States that 
can serve as models for other States to consider—the  Texas initiative, “Don’t Be in the Dark about Child Care,” 
with funding for 40 new licensing staff to implement the project, is one that should be closely watched.  

There is much more to be done to assure that all States are able to provide the time and effort necessary to 
address the large population of illegal FCC providers. In some states, funding of the licensing program does not 
allow for adequate oversight of licensed programs, and investigations of illegal providers becomes a low priority.  
In other states, a lack of support of the law results in uneven or delayed enforcement. Actions that states may wish 
to consider are as follows: 

 States may reduce the number of children that can be cared for in homes that are not licensed—reducing the 
threshold for licensing ensures that more children in out-of-home care are equally protected;  

 Policies and procedures can be strengthened to identify and investigate illegally-operating providers with a 
focus on helping providers become licensed; 
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 Newspapers throughout the State and online advertising services can be asked on a voluntary basis to 

distinguish between licensed and illegal providers or refuse to run advertisements if the providers don’t have a 
license number; 

 Legal support from within the licensing agency and from external law enforcement agencies can be  increased 
to assure that providers unwilling to comply are shut down and remain so.  This may require educating 
policymakers on the risks of inaction;  

 Training for agency attorneys who are assigned to work on licensing issues may result in more effective 
actions against illegal providers. Pursuing civil and criminal sanctions against illegal providers operating 
outside of the authority of licensing may require specific legal expertise;  and 

 Administrative support and funding can be increased to support a more aggressive approach to seriously 
reduce the number of illegal providers.  

Finally, the findings in this brief point out the dearth of statistics to help the field get a better understanding of 
illegal providers—how  many are identified, investigated, are found to be exempt, become licensed, result in civil 
and criminal actions, and how many are the subject of repeated complaints. Additionally, data are lacking on the 
number of children who are seriously injured and die in illegal care. Mechanisms by which to  collect data and 
provide statistics, both within States and on a national level, could prove of great value in identifying and 
minimizing illegal care. 
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Appendix - Examples of Statutory Language 

Georgia 
Bright From the Start 
Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning 
http://decal.ga.gov/ChildCareServices/ChildCareServicesMain.aspx  

 “Article 1 - General Provisions,” in “Chapter 1A - Early Care And Learning,” in “Title 20 – Education,” in 2010 
Georgia Code  (2010)  
http://law.justia.com/codes/georgia/2010/title-20/chapter-1a/article-1/20-1a-10/  

§ 20-1A-10 - Consultation by department on early care and education programs; commissioned centers 
in lieu of licensed centers; annual licensing or commissioning; further requirements; assistance to 
persons or entities holding licenses; temporary licensing or commissioning; inspections; "licensed day-
care center" defined 
(t) Any person who shall operate an early care and education program without a license, registration, or 
commission issued by the department shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, 
shall be punished by a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $200.00 for each such offense. Each day 
of operation without a license, registration, or commission shall constitute a separate offense. 

(u) The department may, without regard to the availability of other remedies, including administrative 
remedies, seek an injunction against the continued operation of an early care and education program 
without a license, registration, or commission or the continued operation of an early care and education 
program in willful violation of this chapter or of any regulation of the department or of any order of the 
department. 

Ohio 
Department of Job and Family Services 
http://jfs.ohio.gov/cdc/childcare.stm  

 “Chapter 12: Licensed Child Care Centers,” in Child Care Manual (11/22/2010) 
http://nrckids.org/index.cfm/resources/state-licensing-and-regulation-information/ohio-regulations/ 

5101:2-12-07 Inspection and Investigation of Licensed and Unlicensed Child Care Centers 
(I) Upon receiving a complaint or otherwise being advised that the center is providing child care without a 
license, the department shall investigate and inspect all areas of the center. 

(J) Upon determining that a center is operating without a license, the department shall notify the attorney 
general, the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the center is located, or the city attorney, village 
solicitor, or other chief legal officer of the municipal corporation in which the center is located, that the 
center is operating without a license. Upon receipt of this notification, the attorney general, prosecuting 
attorney, city attorney, village solicitor, or other chief legal officer of a municipal corporation shall file a 
complaint in the court of common pleas of the county in which the center is located, requesting that the 
court grant an order enjoining the owner from operating such center in violation of section 5104.02 of the 
Revised Code. 
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(K) The department may petition for injunctive relief against a center in the following instances:  

(1) When a center is operating and has not applied for a license. 
(2) When a center has applied for a license, but is operating without a license issued by the 
department. 
(3) When a center is operating after the expiration of a license and the center has failed to 
complete a timely renewal application as required by rule 5101:2-12-06 of the Administrative 
Code. 
(4) When a center is operating after an adjudication order revoking a license or denying a license 
renewal application that is final according to Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

Ohio has the same regulations for group child care homes (Type A) at “Chapter 13: Child Care Type A Homes,” in 
Child Care Manual (9/23/2013) http://nrckids.org/index.cfm/resources/state-licensing-and-regulation-
information/ohio-regulations/.  

Oklahoma 
Oklahoma Child Care Services 
Oklahoma Department of Human Services 
http://www.okdhs.org/programsandservices/cc/prvdrs/lic/ 

 Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act - Sections 401 through 418 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes 
(May 16, 2013)  
http://www.oscn.net/applications/OCISWeb/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=63950  

Section 405 - License and Permit Requirements for Child Care Facilities - Application - Issuance 
A. No child care facility may be operated or maintained in this state, unless licensed or temporarily 
authorized by the Department of Human Services, except for the shelters certified by the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs pursuant to Section 2-7-202 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes; No new child care 
facility may be established without the prior approval of the Department, which shall be granted only 
after the Department is satisfied that the facility will meet minimum standards for a license to operate. 

Section 406 - Investigations and Visitation 
C. 1. Upon receipt of a complaint against any child care facility alleging a violation of the provisions of the 
Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act, or any licensing standard promulgated by the Department, 
the Department shall conduct a full investigation. If upon investigation, it is determined that there are 
reasonable grounds to believe that a facility is in violation of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing 
Act or of any standard or rule promulgated pursuant thereto, the Department shall: 

a. document the complaint, 
b. provide the complaint allegations in writing to the facility involved and, upon written request 
by the child care facility, provide a summary of the facts used to evaluate the completed 
complaint, and 
c. document the facility's plan for correcting any substantiated violations. 
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2. If the Department determines there has been a violation and the violation has a direct impact on the 
health, safety or well-being of one or more of the children cared for by the facility, the Department shall 
notify the facility and require correction of the violation. 

3. The Department shall notify the facility that failure to correct the confirmed violation can result in the 
revocation of the license, the denial of an application for a license, the issuance of an emergency order or 
the filing of an injunction pursuant to the provisions of Section 409 of this title. 

4. If the facility refuses to correct a violation or fails to complete the plan of correction, the Department 
may issue an emergency order, revoke the license, or deny the application for a license. Nothing in this 
section or Section 407 of this title shall be construed as preventing the Department from denying an 
application, revoking a license, or issuing an emergency order for a single violation of this act, or the rules 
of the Department as provided in Section 404 of this title. 

Section 410 - Violations - Punishment 
Any person or agent, representative, or officer of any child care facility who violates any of the provisions 
of the Oklahoma Child Care Facilities Licensing Act shall, upon conviction, be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor and punished in accordance with the provisions of Section 10 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma 
Statutes. Whenever any agent, representative, or officer of any child care facility shall be convicted under 
authority of this act, such conviction shall be sufficient ground for the revocation of the entity's license. 

Oklahoma’s policies and procedures about providers operating illegally are available in “340:110-1-13. Unlicensed 
Facilities,” in “Subchapter 1. General Provisions,” in “Chapter 110. Licensing Services,” in Oklahoma Administrative 
Code 340 (July 1, 2012) at http://www.okdhs.org/library/policy/oac340/110/01/0013000.htm.   

Utah 
Bureau of Child Development 
Child Care Licensing Program 
http://health.utah.gov/licensing/index.htm  

 “R430-1. General Licensing, Certificate, and Enforcement Provisions, Child Care Facilities, “ in R430. Health, 
Health Systems Improvement, Child Care Licensing. (5/1/2012)  
http://nrckids.org/index.cfm/resources/state-licensing-and-regulation-information/utah-regulations/  

R430-1-13. Operating without a License. 
(1) If a person is providing care for more than four unrelated children without the appropriate license or 
certificate, the Department may: 

(a) issue a cease and desist order; or 
(b) allow the person to continue operation if: 

(i) the person was unaware of the need for a license or certificate; 
(ii) conditions do not create a clear and present danger to the children in care; and 
(iii) the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license or certificate within 30 
calendar days of notification by the Department. 

(2) If a person providing care without the appropriate license or certificate agrees to apply for a license or 
certificate as specified above in Subsection (1)(b)(iii) but does not submit the required application within 
30 days, the Department shall issue a cease and desist order. 
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