QRIS Elements

A quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) is a systemic approach to assess, improve, and communicate the level of quality in early and school-age care and education programs. QRIS are composed of five common elements: (1) standards; (2) accountability measures; (3) program and practitioner outreach and support; (4) financial incentives; and (5) parent/consumer education efforts. This document provides an overview of these elements with examples from state QRIS that illustrate the elements.

PDF icon QRIS Elements (PDF)200.57 KB
Publication Date: 
March 1, 2012
Resource Type: 
Information Product
Archive Status: