Preparing Children to Thrive: Standards for Social and Emotional Learning Practices in School-Age Settings

This report includes 34 standards for social-emotional learning practices in school-age settings from the Weikart Center for Program Quality, the Forum for Youth Investment, and the Wallace Foundation. There are 6 domains of standards: (1) emotion management, (2) empathy, (3) teamwork, (4) responsibility, (5) initiative, and (6) problem solving, plus a section on curriculum features.  Each domain includes anecdotes from staff in the 17 Bright Futures sites in Michigan that participated in the development of the standards and there are case studies about the implementation of the standards in 3 program sites.  

Borah Poornam, Michael Conn, and Karen Pittman
Resource Type
52 pages
Publication Date
Archive Status