You are here

Structure and Regions

The Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary has the authority to make CCDF grants to states. The Administration for Children and Families (ACF), within HHS, is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities. ACF is the administrative agency charged with implementation, which is directed by ACF’s Office of Child Care (OCC).

To support CCDF services, OCC establishes and oversees the implementation of child care policies and provides guidance and technical assistance to states as they administer CCDF programs.

The ACF website shows where the Office of Child Care fits in relation to other program offices within ACF. The Office of Child Care and Office of Head Start are at the same organizational level under the leadership of the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Early Childhood Development. [1]

The map below shows the ACF Regions and highlights the OCC regional offices. States, territories, the District of Columbia, and tribal communities are organized into 10 Regions.

The regional offices oversee the programmatic and financial management of ACF programs in each Region and provide guidance to grantees and various entities responsible for administering the child care program. The regional offices report directly to the Office of the Director (Office of Child Care). Regional offices work directly with state and American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) grantees to review CCDF Plans and amendments, answer programmatic questions, conduct site visits, facilitate coordination between state and AI/AN grantees, and facilitate and approve technical assistance requests.

The 10 OCC Regions are composed of the following:

  • States: 50, plus the District of Columbia
  • Territories: 5 (American Samoa, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)
  • Tribal Grantees: approximately 260 (receiving CCDF allocations) [2]

ACF Regional Map

ACF Regional Map

Region 1 Boston

  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont

Region 2 New York City

  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Puerto Rico
  • U. S. Virgin Islands

Region 3 Philadelphia

  • Delaware
  • Maryland
  • Pennsylvania
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • District of Columbia

Region 4 Atlanta

  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee

Region 5 Chicago

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin

Region 6 Dallas

  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas

Region 7 Kansas City

  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska

Region 8 Denver

  • Colorado
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

Region 9 San Francisco

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Nevada
  • American Samoa
  • Federated states of Micronesia
  • Guam
  • Marshall Islands
  • Republic of Palau
  • Northern Mariana Islands

Region 10 Seattle

  • Alaska
  • Idaho
  • Oregon
  • Washington

Source: Office of Regional Operations. (n.d.). Regional offices. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families.


[1] U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families website:

[2] Office of Child Care. (2016). CCDF final rule tribal fact sheet. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families.