You are here

Data Reporting Requirements

Subsidy, Access and Accountability information
This table is provided as a quick reference on reporting requirements for CCDF Administrators and other Lead Agency staff. Tribes have similar forms and dates. Click here to print this document. Click here to print this document for a similar table for tribes.

State CCDF Plan

Quality Progress Report

Financial Report

Aggregate and Case-Level Reports

Error Rate Reports

Form Number


Not Available Yet


ACF-800 & ACF-801

SDAP, ACF-403, 404, & ACF-405


Serves as the agreement between the Lead Agency and the Federal Government as to how CCDF programs will be administered in conformance with legislative requirements, pertinent federal regulations, and other instructions and guidelines issued by ACF.

The purpose of the annual QPR is to capture State and Territory progress on how CCDF quality funds were expended, including the activities funded and the measures used by States and Territories to evaluate progress in improving the quality of child care programs and services for children from birth to age 13.

States are required to use the ACF-696 to report estimates and expenditures for the Mandatory Fund, the Matching Fund, and the Discretionary Fund. Territories are required to use the ACF-696 to report estimates and expenditures for the Discretionary Fund only.

800: ACF 800 (Aggregate Data Report): Provides unduplicated annual counts of children and families served through the CCDF; and other information.

ACF-801(Case-Level Data Report): Provides case-level data on the families and children served during the month of the report, and other demographic information. States may submit a sample or all cases.


States, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico are required to measure, calculate, and report improper authorizations for payments as well as identify strategies for reducing future improper authorizations for payments. Sampling Decisions/Fieldwork Preparation Plan ACF-403: Record Review Worksheet ACF-404: Data Entry Form ACF-405: State Improper Authorizations for Payment Report .



(Note: See information on Amendment process and timelines)




800: Annually

801: Monthly : 90 days after the end of the report month
Quarterly : 60 days after the end of the quarter

ACF-403, ACF-404 & ACF-405 are to be completed by one-third of the 52 States each year of a three-year cycle for the review process.

Reporting Period

Three-year period

Federal FY October–September (annually)

October 1–December 31

January 1–
March 31

April 1–June 30

July 1–September 30

ACF-800 Federal fiscal year

(Oct 1-Sep 30)

ACF-801: Every month or quarter


Year 1 cohort: FY16, due June 2020**

Year 2 cohort: FY17, due June 2021**

Year 3 cohort: FY18, due June 2022**


July 1 prior to start of reporting period (for example, 7/1/18 for FY 2018–2020)

 December 31

30 days after end of quarter

800: December 31

801: Every 90 or 60 days

SDAP – by October 31

ACF-403 – by December 31

ACF-404 – by June 30 of the reporting year

ACF-405 (if applicable) – within 60 days of ACF-404 submission

Submission method

ACF-118 E-Submission site at: ACF-118 E-Submission site at: On-Line Data Collection (OLDC) System


ACF-800: submission (at

ACF-801: Electronic data files (via secure electronic medium)

On-Line Data Collection (OLDC) System
Submit to ACF Regional Office ACF Regional Office ACF Regional Office

ACF-800: Office of Child Care, Reports Manager (via internet)

ACF-801: Department of Health and Human Services (via secure electronic medium)

ACF Regional Office
Technical assistance ACF Regional Office ACF Regional Office ACF Regional Office

On-line help for ACF-800
On-line help for ACF-801

ACF Regional Office
National Center on Child Care Data and Technology

ACF Regional Office

Notes: Regarding due dates for reports, states [1] are strongly encouraged to submit reports ahead of due dates. This allows time for adjustments that may be needed, any technical challenges that may occur with the submission website, and unexpected absences by Lead Agency staff. The 31st dates reference “in the calendar year prior to the reporting year.”

** Each state, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, reports its error rate once every 3 years on a rotational cycle. The 3-year cycle is assigned into cohorts as follows:

Cycle year 1: Alabama, Alaska, California, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Texas, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia

Cycle year 2: Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin

Cycle year 3: Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Carolina, Wyoming

*** The 31st dates reference “in the calendar year prior to the reporting year.”


[1] CCDF regulations define state as follows: “any of the states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands of the United States, Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, and includes tribes unless otherwise specified” [Child Care and Development Fund, 45 C.F.R. § 98.2 (2016)]. For ease of reading, the term state is used inclusively throughout this resource unless otherwise specified.